Does OptumRx cover Ozempic? Yes—on its July 2026 Select and Premium standard drug lists, at Tier 2 with prior authorization and quantity limits. The posted January 2027 lists keep those codes. That is not personal approval: your plan's benefit and approval rules decide payment. Ozempic is not FDA-approved for weight loss. (1, 2, 3, 4, 14, 15)
Disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links, and we label them. If you start care through one, we may earn a commission. That never changes what Optum Rx's own documents say. We are not OptumRx or your insurance company.
Here's the part most pages skip. Being on the list, getting approved, and getting your prescription paid are three different steps. If you're stuck, you're stuck on one of them, and it helps to know which one. This page shows you where you are and what to do next. (11, 27)
We built it from Optum Rx's own drug lists, including the ones for January 2027, which Optum has already posted. Looking for Ozempic for weight loss? Stay with us. There's a better question to ask: whether your plan covers a medicine approved for that use. (3, 4, 16)
Three things can change your answer:
- Your plan's own rules, which beat the standard list.
- Whether you're on Medicare, Medicaid or CHAMPVA.
- Why Ozempic was prescribed. (1, 11, 12, 13, 25)
Find your row
| Your situation | What to know | Jump to |
|---|---|---|
| I have type 2 diabetes | Can be covered; your plan's approval rules apply | What OptumRx needs to approve it |
| I want it for weight loss only | Not an FDA-approved Ozempic use; the policies reviewed here require diabetes | The better question to ask |
| The pharmacy said "prior authorization required" | A review is needed. That message alone is not a denial. | What your result means |
| I got denied | Find out which kind of "no" it was | What to do after a denial |
| I'm on Medicare, Medicaid or CHAMPVA | Use that program's rules, not the standard commercial list | Government plans |
| I just want to know my price | Check your plan quote, then any eligible savings | What Ozempic costs |
Sources: the plan policies, program guidance, and savings terms below. (11, 12, 13, 18, 25, 27)
Is this page for you?
Best for you if your pharmacy card says OptumRx (or Optum Rx) and you want Ozempic covered, whether it's the pen or the new pill.
Not for you if:
- Your pharmacy card says Express Scripts or CVS Caremark. Different company, different list. Go to our Express Scripts Ozempic guide or our CVS Caremark Ozempic guide.
- You want the yes/no on every GLP-1 at once. See What GLP-1 does OptumRx cover?
- You need an official decision. Only your plan can give you one. This page helps you ask for the right answer.
The RX Index is the independent GLP-1 decision resource that scores telehealth providers and treatment paths on clinical legitimacy, care quality, transparency, access, and cost, so readers can choose the path that fits their situation.
What we actually verified
| We checked (September 23, 2026) | We did not check |
|---|---|
| Ozempic's line in Optum Rx's July 2026 Select and Premium drug lists | Your plan's own custom drug list |
| Ozempic's line in the January 1, 2027 Select and Premium lists, plus the 2027 Select prior authorization and step therapy lists | Your personal 2027 benefit or copay |
| Optum Rx's May and August 2026 change logs (called Pharmacy Passages) | Your medical records or whether you qualify |
| UnitedHealthcare's 2026 Ozempic approval rule, CareOregon's published Optum Rx guideline, and OptumRx's CHAMPVA notice | Any real member's prior authorization or appeal |
| Novo Nordisk's current cash prices, savings-offer terms, and prescribing information | Your final price at the pharmacy |
| Medicare's GLP-1 Bridge rules (CMS) | How long your plan takes to decide |
| Ro's published prices, free coverage checker, and insurance rules | A completed Ro report, paid enrollment, or treatment experience |
The right GLP-1 provider isn't the same for everyone. It depends on your state, your insurance and formulary, whether you want an FDA-approved or compounded medication, your preferred form (injection or oral), and your budget. Because a general answer can't resolve those for you, use The RX Index's Find My GLP-1 Path tool to explore provider options before you choose. Confirm your own coverage and price with your plan.
This guide covers FDA-approved Ozempic. Compounded semaglutide is not FDA-approved and is not Ozempic. (36)
Is Ozempic on the OptumRx drug list?
Yes. OptumRx's July 2026 Select and Premium standard drug lists both show Ozempic at Tier 2, with prior authorization (PA) and a quantity limit (QL). Its posted January 1, 2027 Select and Premium lists keep those codes. (1, 2, 3, 4)
First, two quick terms:
- OptumRx is a pharmacy benefit manager. That's the company that runs the prescription side of your health plan. It's part of UnitedHealth Group. (30)
- A drug list (also called a formulary) is the list of medicines a plan covers under its rules. OptumRx publishes standard lists called Select and Premium, among others. Your plan can use its own version. (1, 10)
We opened Optum Rx's actual documents and compared the Ozempic entries. Here's what they say.
Ozempic in Optum Rx's own documents
| Optum Rx document | Effective date | What it says about Ozempic | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|---|
| Select Standard drug list | July 1, 2026 | Tier 2 · PA · QL (1) | Preferred brand. Needs approval. Has a limit. |
| Premium Standard drug list | July 1, 2026 | Tier 2 · PA · QL (2) | Same codes on Optum's other standard list |
| Pharmacy Passages (May 2026 change log) | April 16, 2026 | Ozempic tablets (1.5, 4 and 9 mg) added at Tier 2 · PA · QL on both lists (8) | Same tier and codes; the tablet still needs a product-specific check |
| Premium prior authorization list | July 1, 2026 | Ozempic injection: "1 syringe per 28 days" (6) | Have the pharmacy check the exact package and billed days' supply; this is not a dosing instruction |
| Select and Premium Standard drug lists | January 1, 2027 | Tier 2 · PA · QL, under "Diabetes – Antidiabetic Agents" (3, 4) | Both posted lists retain the entry; your own 2027 benefit still needs checking |
| Select prior authorization list | January 1, 2027 | Injection: "1 syringe per 28 days." Tablets, listed with Rybelsus: 1 per day. (5) | Pen and pill have separate entries; do not transfer an approval from one to the other |
| Select step therapy list | January 1, 2027 | Ozempic is not listed in this separate step therapy document (7) | That does not rule out a prior-drug requirement inside your plan's PA policy |
| Pharmacy Passages (August 2026) | June 3, 2026, for the tier changes shown | No Ozempic change is named. Januvia and Janumet moved up to Tier 3 on both standard lists. (9) | Check later change logs as well as the main booklet |
A detail worth checking: the July booklets still print Tier 2 for Januvia and Janumet, while the August change log reports their June 3 move to Tier 3. We found that mismatch by reading the documents together. A booklet's filename alone does not prove that every entry is the latest rule. Ask for the member-specific answer. (1, 2, 9)
What the letters mean
- Tier 2: Optum calls this the "preferred brand" price level. Tier 1 is the lowest cost level, mostly generics. Tier 3 is the highest of these three levels. Your plan sets the dollar amount for each tier. (1)
- PA (prior authorization): Your prescriber must meet the plan's approval rule. Some plans can check existing records automatically. (11)
- QL (quantity limit): A cap on how much the plan covers in a set period. The drug, package and days' supply must match the claim. (5, 6)
Do not read "1 syringe per 28 days" as "one injection a month." Ozempic injection is taken weekly. Its current label includes both multi-dose pens and single-dose prefilled syringes. A starter pen can provide six weekly doses—four at 0.25 mg and two at 0.5 mg—so not every pen is a 28-day treatment supply. Ask the pharmacist to check the exact product code, called the NDC, and the correct days' supply. (14, 35)
Three things that are not on Ozempic's line
- No ST (step therapy). Step therapy means trying another drug first. Ozempic has no ST mark on the standard lines reviewed here, and it is absent from the separate 2027 Select step therapy list. That is different from saying no plan can require a drug trial. (3, 7, 12)
- No SP (specialty). Ozempic isn't marked as a specialty drug on these lists. (1, 2, 3, 4)
- No "++." Remember this one. It is a benefit-design flag on Wegovy's entry—not proof that Ozempic bypasses your plan's rules. (3)
What changed, and what's coming
| Date | What happened |
|---|---|
| April 2024 | UnitedHealthcare removed wording saying step therapy "may be in place" from this particular Ozempic policy's history. That is not a rule for every OptumRx plan. (11) |
| April 16, 2026 | Ozempic tablets added at Tier 2 with PA and QL (8) |
| May 4, 2026 | U.S. availability of the Ozempic pill began under Novo Nordisk's announced launch date (20) |
| June 3, 2026 | Januvia and Janumet moved up to Tier 3, according to the August change log; that issue names no Ozempic change (9) |
| January 1, 2027 | The posted Select and Premium lists retain Ozempic at Tier 2 with PA and QL (3, 4) |
Why your plan might say something different
- Your plan's rules come first. Optum Rx's own drug lists say your plan's benefit documents win when the two don't match. (1)
- Changes are not limited to twice a year. January 1 and July 1 are key update dates, but lower-tier moves and certain changes tied to new generics can happen at other times. (3)
- Your card might not say "OptumRx" in big letters. Check who manages your prescription benefit and ask which plan-specific rules apply. UnitedHealthcare, CareOregon and CHAMPVA provide three different examples below. (11, 12, 13)
If your card says UnitedHealthcare, our UnitedHealthcare Ozempic guide covers UHC's own policy.
Does OptumRx cover Ozempic for weight loss?
Not under the diabetes approval paths reviewed below unless you also meet their type 2 diabetes requirements. Ozempic is not FDA-approved for weight loss. OptumRx lists Wegovy, which contains semaglutide and has a weight-management indication, but its "++" flag says coverage depends on your plan's benefits. (11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 3)
Here's the "++" payoff we promised. We put the two drugs side by side, straight from Optum Rx's January 2027 Select list. We checked the approved uses against the prescribing information.
Same active ingredient, two different coverage questions
| What to compare | Ozempic | Wegovy |
|---|---|---|
| Medicine inside | Semaglutide (14, 15) | Semaglutide (16) |
| Made by | Novo Nordisk (14, 15) | Novo Nordisk (16) |
| FDA-approved use most relevant here | Blood sugar control in adults with type 2 diabetes (14, 15) | Long-term weight management in adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related health problem; the injection also has an obesity indication for ages 12 and older (16) |
| Other approved uses | Injection: reducing heart attack, stroke or cardiovascular death in adults with type 2 diabetes and established cardiovascular disease; reducing worsening kidney disease, kidney failure and cardiovascular death in adults with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease. Tablets: reducing heart attack, stroke or cardiovascular death in adults with type 2 diabetes at high risk. (14, 15) | Reducing heart attack, stroke or cardiovascular death in adults with established cardiovascular disease and overweight or obesity. The injection, not the pill, also has an accelerated approval for adults with MASH, a fatty liver disease, and moderate-to-advanced scarring (stages F2–F3), without cirrhosis. (16) |
| Optum Rx tier in this list | Tier 2 (3) | Tier 2 (3) |
| Codes on the list | PA · QL (3) | PA · ++ · QL (3) |
| Chapter of the drug list | Diabetes – Antidiabetic Agents (3) | Miscellaneous Therapeutic Agents (3) |
| Who decides if it's covered | Your plan's benefits and the applicable approval rule | Your plan's benefits and the applicable approval rule; "++" highlights the benefit-design choice (3) |
Cardiovascular disease means disease of the heart or blood vessels.
Read that last row twice.
Ozempic's coverage is not automatic once you prove diabetes. The diabetes rule is one check; your benefit must also cover the prescription. (11)
Wegovy's coverage has a benefit switch to check. Optum's list says "++" means coverage depends on your prescription plan. Zepbound and Foundayo carry the same "++" mark on the 2027 Select list. An included benefit still has approval rules. (3)
So for weight loss alone, the better question is:
"Does my plan cover Wegovy, Zepbound or Foundayo for weight management? Which form, and what are the approval rules?"
If the switch is on, you may qualify for an FDA-approved weight-loss medicine using your insurance. If it's off, ask whether the problem is an excluded drug, an excluded use, or an excluded benefit—and whether an exception or appeal is available. A stronger Ozempic letter cannot, by itself, add a missing weight-loss benefit. (3, 25, 29)
The shared ingredient does not make Ozempic and Wegovy interchangeable. Have your clinician choose the product and dose. (14, 15, 16)
Can I just pay cash for Ozempic for weight loss?
Not through Novo Nordisk's own cash program. NovoCare Pharmacy's Ozempic terms say you can use it only if Ozempic was prescribed for an FDA-approved use, and weight loss isn't one. (19, 14, 15)
For weight loss, the matching FDA-approved semaglutide cash path is Wegovy. Through Ro, the standard Wegovy pen is advertised at $199 per 28-day supply for the first two fills at 0.25 or 0.5 mg, for eligible patients who sign up by December 31, 2026, then $349 at standard doses through 2.4 mg. The 7.2 mg HD pen is $399. The Wegovy pill starts at $149 for the 1.5 mg starter strength; higher strengths cost more. Ro's membership fee is extra. (16, 21)
Ro says its medication cash prices match NovoCare, LillyDirect and TrumpRx. That is Ro's published claim, not a claim that its membership-plus-medication total is the same. (21)
What if I have prediabetes, PCOS or insulin resistance?
UnitedHealthcare's 2026 Ozempic rule asks for records of type 2 diabetes, such as a diagnostic A1C of 6.5% or higher, or chart notes showing an ongoing diagnosis made more than two years ago. (A1C is a blood test that shows your average blood sugar over about three months.) (38) Prediabetes, PCOS or insulin resistance alone does not meet that type 2 diabetes requirement. OptumRx's CHAMPVA notice specifically excludes Ozempic for prediabetes, weight loss and obesity. (11, 13)
Already treated for diabetes? Do not assume a lower A1C means you no longer qualify. UHC's policy accepts records of an ongoing diagnosis made more than two years ago. Ask your prescriber to send the history the policy requires—not to change treatment to produce a higher result. (11)
If weight management is your goal, ask about the Wegovy question above. PCOS or prediabetes alone does not guarantee that you meet a weight-management drug's criteria either. (16)
Please don't try to "make it fit"
Here it is straight:
- Don't change your medical history to match a coverage rule.
- Don't let anyone put a diagnosis on a form that you don't have.
- Don't change your dose to fit an insurance limit.
A prior authorization has to match your real records. When it does, you're on solid ground. (11)
Want semaglutide for weight loss? Check the drug your plan might actually cover
Here's the honest part first.
Ro does NOT bill your insurance for its own fee. The membership is cash: $39 for the first month (refunded if you're not eligible), then as low as $74/month with the annual plan paid upfront, or $149 month to month. Your medicine is a separate cost. (21, 23)
If avoiding a new program fee is your top priority, your own doctor plus the free steps in How to check your own plan is the better starting point. Your usual visit costs can still apply.
But paid Ro care includes help with the part you came here to solve: coverage checks and paperwork.
- It checks three pens in one free report. Ro's free GLP-1 Insurance Coverage Checker covers the Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound pens. It does not list the Ozempic pill among the three checked products. (22)
- New Ro accounts get a $50 credit toward starting treatment through the checker offer. Check its terms before assuming that credit combines with another offer. (22)
- It handles the paperwork. If you join and need a prior authorization, Ro says its insurance concierge submits it for you. (23)
- It has a backup plan. If your plan says no, Ro says its provider can suggest FDA-approved cash options when appropriate. (23)
Does this sound like your situation? Check my Wegovy and Ozempic pen coverage free with Ro → (affiliate link)
Free report, not a prescription or PA submission · $50 credit offer for new Ro accounts · Not an insurance-help path for Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE; FEHB members can use Ro's insurance concierge. (22, 23)
"Having the team at Ro help me navigate insurance was a huge relief." — Colleen, Ro member. Paid testimonial, as disclosed by Ro. (24)
This describes one person's experience with insurance help. It does not predict your plan's answer.
What Ro says—and what we verified
| Provider-stated claim | What we verified on September 23, 2026 | What we did not verify |
|---|---|---|
| Free coverage report | Ro's live page names the Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound pens and says it contacts the insurer (22) | A completed report for a real member |
| No treatment request through the free check | Ro expressly separates its report from a treatment request or prescription (22) | A personal approval or a final pharmacy price |
| Membership from $39, then $74–$149/month | The published pricing separates the introductory fee, prepaid annual rate and monthly plan (21) | An individual checkout, refund or renewal charge |
| PA help with paid care | Ro's published service description includes prior authorization paperwork (23) | Approval rates, a guaranteed turnaround, or better outcomes than your own doctor |
Skip Ro for insurance help if you're on Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE. Ro says it can't coordinate GLP-1 coverage for those government plans; some cash-pay treatment options are separate. Go to Government plans instead. For the wider drug list, read What GLP-1 does OptumRx cover?. (23, 24)
What does OptumRx need to approve Ozempic?
Start with your plan's actual prior authorization rule. UnitedHealthcare's July 2026 policy, for example, requires records of type 2 diabetes with a qualifying diagnostic lab, or chart notes showing an ongoing diagnosis made more than two years ago. Approval under that policy lasts 12 months. (11)
There's no single OptumRx checklist for everyone. OptumRx runs the paperwork for many different plans, and each plan can use its own rule. We compared two full policies and one member notice. Look how different they are.
Three real Ozempic rules, side by side
| What to check | UnitedHealthcare commercial | CareOregon Medicaid: general diabetes pathway | CHAMPVA through OptumRx |
|---|---|---|---|
| Source and date | PA policy, effective July 1, 2026 (11) | Optum Rx guideline, effective July 21, 2026 (12) | Member notice, rule effective January 1, 2025 (13) |
| Must you have type 2 diabetes? | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Proof asked for | Diagnosis records plus one qualifying lab: A1C 6.5%+, fasting glucose 126 mg/dL+, two-hour glucose 200 mg/dL+, or random glucose 200 mg/dL+ with classic symptoms or a hyperglycemic crisis. Chart notes can establish an ongoing diagnosis made more than two years ago. | Type 2 diabetes plus one of two treatment pathways summarized below | Type 2 diabetes diagnosis; this notice is not a full PA checklist |
| Must you try other drugs first? | This policy does not name a metformin trial | Prior-treatment rules apply, with specified exceptions. Both general pathways also require liraglutide failure or a contraindication, meaning a medical reason it should not be used. | Not stated in this notice |
| How long approval lasts | 12 months | 12 months; renewal asks for an A1C from the last six months, with one two-month grace approval if it is missing | Not stated in this notice |
| Can it approve from existing records? | Yes, the policy allows automated approval from claims history or diagnosis codes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Weight loss alone | Not a qualifying diagnosis under this diabetes policy; benefit exclusions are plan-specific | Does not meet the type 2 diabetes requirement | Not covered |
Each column summarizes only its linked document, not every plan managed by OptumRx. (11, 12, 13)
For CareOregon's general diabetes pathway, the two branches are:
- Heart or kidney disease branch: established artery disease caused by plaque (ASCVD), or chronic kidney disease with eGFR of 25–75 mL/min/1.73 m² and urine albumin-to-creatinine ratio (UACR) above 100 mg/g. Those are blood and urine measures of kidney health. This branch also requires an SGLT2 diabetes drug that failed, was not tolerated, or could not be used—or continued SGLT2 treatment with A1C above 7%.
- Other diabetes branch: metformin failure or a contraindication, A1C above 7%, and at least three-month trials of two treatments at the highest tolerated doses. The listed choices are a sulfonylurea, pioglitazone, alogliptin or an SGLT2 inhibitor.
Both branches also require liraglutide failure or a contraindication and no use with another GLP-1/GIP drug. The same guideline has a separate pathway for type 2 diabetes with obstructive sleep apnea. Ask the office to use the full branch that fits your actual records. (12)
Yes, the rules really can be that different. Same company running the paperwork, same drug, same year. That's why the most useful thing you can do is ask for your plan's rule.
Your doctor's checklist
Hand this to your doctor's office. It covers the records to check against your own plan's form:
- The exact drug: pen, single-dose syringe or tablet, and the strength.
- Your diagnosis: the actual reason for treatment, as written in your chart.
- The diagnostic records the policy asks for. UHC's lab and more-than-two-year chart-note options are one example, not a universal OptumRx requirement.
- Your current and past diabetes medicines, including any you stopped because of side effects.
- Your plan's rule. Ask for the actual criteria and send only what they ask for. (11, 12, 14, 15)
Doctors can send it electronically. That's called ePA, or electronic prior authorization, and Optum Rx points prescribers to CoverMyMeds for it. (10)
Copy this note for your doctor's office:
"Hi, my OptumRx plan needs prior authorization for Ozempic [form and strength]. Could you please check which policy applies and submit the records it asks for, using my actual diagnosis and treatment history? Please include diagnostic labs or older chart notes if required, and explain any relevant prior medicine failures or medical reasons I cannot use a required drug. Could you let me know once the request is received or if anything is missing? Thank you."
You can use that note with your own doctor's office. No new program is needed just to ask them to check the request.
Can approval happen with no paperwork?
Sometimes. UnitedHealthcare's rule says it may approve Ozempic based on your claims history or diagnosis codes alone. That means if your diabetes is already in your records, you might never see a PA form. (11)
Optum Rx also runs a system called PreCheck Prior Authorization. In an October 2024 announcement, it reported approval times falling from about 8.5 hours to under 30 seconds for in-scope requests, citing April–June 2024 data. The announcement includes diabetes GLP-1s among the drug groups. That is a reported program result—not a promised turnaround for your Ozempic request. Ask whether your request can use an automatic check. (30)
How long does approval take?
It depends on your plan. Automatic approvals can happen right away. If a person has to review your records, ask OptumRx for your plan's decision timeframe when you call. If you go through Ro's insurance concierge instead, Ro says the whole insurance process takes about 2 to 3 weeks. That is Ro's estimate for its workflow, not a universal OptumRx deadline. (11, 23)
Ask two questions: "Do you have everything you need?" and "What date is the decision due?" A missing-record request and a complete request waiting for review need different follow-up.
Need medicine before you're approved?
Call your prescriber and pharmacist before you run out. Ask about a safe way to cover the gap and, if delay could harm your health, whether an urgent review is available. (29)
Optum Rx's PA handout mentions samples and a paid short supply of five days or less as general options. That does not establish that a pharmacy can split an Ozempic pen or supply five days of it. Ask what is actually available for your exact product; do not change your dose or stretch a pen to make the insurance dates fit. (6, 14)
Do I have to try metformin first?
UnitedHealthcare's 2026 policy does not specify a metformin trial. Optum Rx's separate 2027 Select step therapy list does not list Ozempic. But a plan's PA criteria can still require prior treatment; CareOregon's rule shows why the distinction matters. Ask your plan: "Does my Ozempic rule require trying another drug first? How are side effects or reasons I can't take it counted?" (11, 7, 12)
What does my OptumRx Ozempic result actually mean?
A drug-list entry, a price in the Optum Rx app, and a pharmacy message each answer only part of the coverage question. Being on the list, getting prior authorization, and getting a claim paid are separate steps. Before paying for anything, match what you saw to what it actually proves. (11, 27)
This is where people lose weeks. They see one good sign and assume the rest is done. Use this table to find the missing piece.
| What you saw | What it proves | What it doesn't prove | Ask this next |
|---|---|---|---|
| "Ozempic is on the OptumRx list" | It's on that published list (1, 3) | That your plan uses that list, or that you're approved | "Which drug list does my plan use?" |
| "Prior authorization required" | A coverage review is needed (11) | That a denial has already been issued | "Did you get my doctor's request? Is anything missing?" |
| A price in the Optum Rx app | A price estimate for the details entered (27) | That your PA is done or the price is final | "Is anything still blocking a paid claim?" |
| An "approved" letter | The request described in the letter was approved (11) | That the pill, another strength, or a later plan year is approved too | "Which exact drug and strength, and until what date?" |
| An ad saying "as little as $25" | The savings offer exists (18) | That you'll pay $25; savings are capped at $100 for one month's medicine | "What will I owe after insurance and the card?" |
| Your doctor wrote the prescription | Your doctor prescribed that treatment | That insurance will pay (11) | "What rule applies to the reason my doctor wrote?" |
| A free coverage report from Ro | What Ro gathered from the plan (22) | A prescription or an approval | "Is this only the report, or am I joining paid care?" |
How do I check if my own OptumRx plan covers Ozempic?
Log in at OptumRx or in the Optum Rx app, search for Ozempic, and choose your exact form and strength to see your price and coverage details. If the answer isn't clear, call the member number on your prescription ID card and ask the questions in the script below. (27)
Here's how:
- Grab your pharmacy card, the one that identifies your prescription benefit.
- Log in at OptumRx or in the Optum Rx app.
- Search "Ozempic." Pick the exact product and strength. The pen and the pill are different products, so check the one you'll actually fill.
- Write it down: the date, the price, any "prior authorization" note, and any reference number.
- Call if anything is unclear. Use the script below.
- Tell your doctor's office what you found. (14, 15, 27)
Call script:
"Hi, I'm checking coverage for Ozempic under my plan. It's the [form], [strength], for the reason my doctor wrote. Is it covered? Does it need prior authorization or step therapy, or is there a quantity limit? Which drug list does my plan use? What would I pay at my pharmacy? If it isn't covered, what's the exact reason, and can I get that in writing?"
Rather not sit on hold? Ro's free checker will look up your plan for you. It's just a report. It's not a prescription and it doesn't file a prior authorization. You can share the report with your own doctor; paid care through Ro is a separate choice. The checker asks for your name, insurance-card details and eligibility information, and sends the report by email. (22)
Let Ro check my Ozempic pen coverage for free → (affiliate link; not a government-plan insurance-help service)
Or do it yourself with the worksheet below. No email, account or paid program is needed to use it.
My Ozempic coverage checklist
Copy this into your notes, or print it and fill it in while you call. Keep your member number and medical records private; you do not need to send them to The RX Index.
| What to save | Your answer |
|---|---|
| Plan name and plan year | ____________________ |
| Form and strength; NDC if the pharmacy has it | ____________________ |
| Date checked and pharmacy used for the quote | ____________________ |
| Covered, PA needed, or not payable—and the exact reason | ____________________ |
| Policy name, number and effective date | ____________________ |
| Missing records or claim details to correct | ____________________ |
| Quoted cost before and after the deductible | ____________________ |
| Approval end date or appeal deadline, if one is given | ____________________ |
| Next contact, reference number and follow-up date | ____________________ |
Pick the next step that fits:
| Your situation | Do this next | Save this |
|---|---|---|
| Not checked yet | Use your member account or call the number on your card | The exact product result and date |
| PA required | Ask your doctor's office to confirm submission and receipt | The request reference and missing items |
| Denied | Use the denial table to identify the kind of rejection | The written reason, policy and appeal instructions |
| Refill rejected | Ask the pharmacist to check the product, quantity, days' supply and approval dates | The claim rejection and corrected details |
| Price too high | Compare your covered price after eligible savings with the cash options | Both quotes, their supply lengths and what counts toward your deductible |
This worksheet organizes the evidence; it does not decide coverage or whether a diagnosis fits you. (11, 18, 19, 27, 29)
How much does Ozempic cost with OptumRx?
There's no single OptumRx price for Ozempic, because your plan sets what you pay. With eligible commercial coverage, Novo Nordisk's savings offer can bring your cost as low as $25, but savings are capped at $100 for a one-month prescription. NovoCare's standard cash price is $349 per 28-day pen supply at 0.25/0.5 or 1 mg, and $499 at 2 mg. (17, 18, 19, 27)
Your four ways to pay
| Way to pay | What it costs | Who can use it | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| OptumRx coverage | Your plan's copay or coinsurance | Your benefit covers the prescription and its approval rules are met | Your deductible and pharmacy can change the price (27) |
| OptumRx plus the Ozempic Savings Offer | As little as $25; maximum savings of $100, $200 or $300 for an eligible one-, two- or three-month prescription | Eligible people with commercial coverage for Ozempic, including FEHB, ACA marketplace and state employee plans | Not for Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE or VA. People with both commercial and government drug coverage are excluded. (18) |
| NovoCare cash, pen | $199 per 28-day fill for the first two eligible fills at 0.25/0.5 mg. Then $349 at 0.25/0.5 or 1 mg, or $499 at 2 mg. | Eligible patients with a prescription for an FDA-approved use who pay outside insurance | The introductory offer has new-patient and deadline rules. Do not submit these purchases to insurance. (19) |
| NovoCare cash, pill | Per 30 tablets: $149 at 1.5 mg, $199 at 4 mg, $299 at 9 mg | Eligible patients with a prescription for an FDA-approved use who pay outside insurance | The $149 strength is the starter dose, not the ongoing blood-sugar-control dose. (19, 15) |
Prices and offer terms checked September 23, 2026. Pen offers use 28-day supply units; tablet offers use 30-day supplies. Those are not identical calendar-month costs. (18, 19)
Why "as little as $25" may not mean $25 for you
The card does not promise to erase your whole copay. For an eligible one-month prescription, it reduces the amount toward $25, but takes off no more than $100. Here's what that does to the examples below. (18)
| What you owe after insurance, before the card | Savings in this example | About what you'd pay with the card |
|---|---|---|
| $60 | $35 | $25 |
| $150 | $100 | $50 |
| $400 | $100 | $300 |
Examples only, not OptumRx price quotes. They assume an eligible one-month fill; the pharmacy applies the full offer terms. They do not mean a lower existing copay must be raised to $25. (18)
The deductible trap
A deductible is what you pay before the plan starts sharing costs that are subject to it. Optum Rx's standard booklet says its tier prices apply after the deductible in a high-deductible plan. Ask whether your own Ozempic benefit follows that rule. (1, 27)
So early in the year, you may be charged the full price your plan has for the pen, and the card still takes off only $100 for a one-month fill. If your January price jumped, check whether your deductible reset. Ask OptumRx: "What's my price before and after my deductible?" (18, 27)
Is paying cash ever cheaper?
Sometimes, but know the trade-offs first:
- It only works for FDA-approved uses. NovoCare's discounted Ozempic program is only for FDA-approved uses, like type 2 diabetes.
- It is outside your insurance. Its terms prohibit submitting a claim for reimbursement and require government-plan users to agree not to apply purchases to plan deductibles or out-of-pocket limits. Do not budget for deductible credit from this self-pay offer.
- You can't stack it. It can't be combined with the savings card.
- The $199 intro price has a real deadline. The prescription must be written and received by December 31, 2026, and shipped by January 31, 2027. NovoCare defines a new patient here as someone who has never filled an Ozempic injection prescription through this program—not necessarily someone who has never used Ozempic. (19)
If your plan price is still higher than NovoCare's cash price after the card, cash may win for that fill. If you're close to your deductible, using your insurance may win for the year. Compare the same supply length and the effect on your remaining deductible, not just the first price you see.
Can I get three months at once?
Ask whether your plan allows that supply for your exact product and pharmacy. The manufacturer savings offer allows an eligible three-month fill only when the prescription is written and dispensed for that amount and commercial insurance covers it. Its maximum savings for that fill are $300. A quantity-limit line alone does not answer your three-month-fill question. (18, 5)
If cash beats your copay and you already have a prescription, going straight to NovoCare avoids adding a telehealth membership fee. We earn nothing from this link.
See Novo Nordisk's current Ozempic prices and savings terms →
What if even the cash price is too high?
Novo Nordisk's separate Patient Assistance Program provides medicine at no cost to people who qualify. Its 2026 Ozempic rules allow eligible uninsured patients with household income at or below 200% of the federal poverty level, along with the other program requirements. People with commercial coverage are not eligible, and Medicare beneficiaries with prescription drug coverage are no longer eligible for Ozempic through this program. Check the manufacturer's application rules. (33)
Will the 2027 price cut change my copay?
Novo Nordisk announced a $675 monthly list price for Ozempic injection starting January 1, 2027. A list price is not your copay. The company says this change does not alter its direct-to-patient self-pay prices. Ask your plan for a fresh 2027 quote rather than assuming your cost will fall by the same amount. (34)
Does OptumRx cover the Ozempic pill?
Ozempic tablets are listed at Tier 2 with prior authorization and a quantity limit on the standard sources reviewed here. OptumRx added the 1.5, 4 and 9 mg tablets on April 16, 2026, and its January 2027 Select PA list caps them at one tablet a day. An approval for the pen doesn't automatically cover the pill, so check the exact tablet. (8, 5)
Novo Nordisk announced U.S. availability of the Ozempic pill for May 4, 2026. It's the new name for its updated oral semaglutide formulation, and Novo directs Rybelsus patients to discuss the transition with their prescriber. The dose numbers changed, which trips people up. (20)
| Rybelsus strength | Ozempic tablet strength | What the label says |
|---|---|---|
| 3 mg | 1.5 mg | Both are starter strengths. Do not switch between the products during the first 30 days. |
| 7 mg | 4 mg | Listed as a switch option after the starter phase, when directed by the prescriber |
| 14 mg | 9 mg | Listed as a switch option after the starter phase, when directed by the prescriber |
These products are not interchangeable milligram for milligram. This table explains the label; it is not a plan to switch yourself. The starter strengths are not effective for ongoing blood sugar control. (15)
A few more pill facts worth knowing:
- One pill a day. Optum Rx's 2027 Select list caps the Ozempic and Rybelsus tablets at one per day. (5)
- Old starter-dose cap. That list limits the old Rybelsus 3 mg starter dose to two starter packs per 365 days. It shows no separate starter cap for the 1.5 mg Ozempic pill; that does not rule out a plan-specific limit. (5)
- Price. With eligible commercial coverage, Novo says you may pay as little as $25 for an eligible prescription of up to three months, subject to savings limits. Cash prices are $149, $199 and $299 per 30-day supply by strength. (18, 19)
- What's next. In May 2026, Novo said it had asked the FDA to approve a 25 mg Ozempic pill and expected a decision by the end of 2026. That was a company forecast, not an approval. The tablet label checked for this page lists Ozempic strengths of 1.5, 4 and 9 mg. (20, 15)
Switching from the pen to the pill, or the other way? Ask your plan whether you need a new prior authorization. Don't assume one covers the other.
What should I do if OptumRx denies Ozempic?
Start by finding out which kind of "no" you got. Missing information calls for the exact missing item. A "criteria not met" denial needs a review against your records and the policy. An excluded drug or benefit needs a different question: what exception or appeal rights apply, and which treatments are covered? (11, 29, 1)
A denial feels final. Often it isn't. Match your letter or pharmacy message to the right row:
| What the letter or pharmacy says | What it means to check | Your next move |
|---|---|---|
| "Prior authorization required" | A review is needed; this message alone is not a final denial | Ask your doctor to send the PA or check its status. Before running out, ask your doctor and pharmacist about a safe plan for the gap. |
| "Missing information" | They didn't get what the rule asks for | Ask which item is missing. Send that exact item, not the same packet again. |
| "Criteria not met" or "not medically necessary" | The reviewer says the submitted records do not satisfy the rule | Get the written rule. Your doctor compares it to your chart and addresses the stated reason in any appeal. |
| "Not covered," "excluded," or "plan exclusion" | The drug, the use or the benefit may be excluded; those are not the same thing | Ask about an exception. Ask which drugs are covered. For weight loss, check Wegovy or Zepbound. |
| "Quantity limit exceeded" or "refill too soon" | The claim asked for more, or sooner, than the limit | Ask the pharmacy what was billed. Fix the claim, or have your doctor ask for a quantity review. |
| Pill rejected but pen was approved | The tablet is a separate product | Ask the plan to check the exact tablet and strength |
This is a follow-up framework, not a prediction that a denial will be reversed. (1, 5, 11, 15, 29)
Already have an approval letter? Save it with the rejection and ask the plan to explain the mismatch. Get the answer for the exact product, fill date and approval period.
What to save
- The paperwork: the denial letter or notice, and the rule it cites.
- Your records: everything your doctor sent.
- Your calls: the date, the name of who you spoke with, and the reference number for every call.
- Your appeal instructions: the steps and the deadline.
HealthCare.gov's appeal guidance says to keep exactly these kinds of records. Use the deadline on your own notice; different benefit programs have different review processes. (29)
Covered options to ask your doctor about
If Ozempic stays blocked, Optum Rx's 2027 Select list has other diabetes GLP-1s:
- Generic liraglutide (the medicine in Victoza) is Tier 1, the lowest price level, with PA and QL. It's a daily shot, not weekly. (3, 37)
- Mounjaro and Trulicity are Tier 2, each with PA and QL. (3)
These are questions to bring to your doctor, not a switch plan. Your doctor decides what fits you. A listing still needs checking against your own plan.
Asking for an exception
Optum Rx's drug list says you, someone you authorize, or your doctor can start a coverage request by calling the number on your member ID card. Your doctor sends the medical details. If it's approved, you may keep filling the drug but pay a higher cost. Our GLP-1 formulary exception guide walks through it. (1)
What not to do
- Don't pay for a new program hoping it changes your plan's rules. It won't.
- Don't stop or change your medicine just to work around an insurance problem. Ask your doctor for a plan to cover any gap. For serious side effects, follow the medicine's urgent-care instructions. (14, 15)
No doctor to file it?
If you have type 2 diabetes but no regular doctor, you need someone who can manage your diabetes and send the paperwork. Start with your plan's in-network primary care options.
Sesame is a cash-pay marketplace where you pick your own clinician, including for diabetes visits. Do not assume a general Sesame visit includes insurance paperwork. Sesame describes medication PA help specifically for its weight-management service. Before paying for a diabetes visit, ask whether the clinician will manage your condition and submit your Ozempic PA. A visit does not guarantee a prescription, and Sesame says a decision not to prescribe is not a reason for a refund. (31, 32)
Compare diabetes clinicians on Sesame → (affiliate link; cash-pay visits)
Use my denial follow-up checklist → (free, no email)
Does OptumRx cover Ozempic with Medicare, Medicaid or CHAMPVA?
They can cover Ozempic for type 2 diabetes, but each program has its own rules. Medicare Part D plans handle Ozempic through their own drug lists, and Medicare's $50 GLP-1 Bridge does not include it. CHAMPVA's published OptumRx notice requires a type 2 diabetes diagnosis. (25, 12, 13)
Medicare
If your Part D plan runs through OptumRx, Ozempic for type 2 diabetes goes through that plan's own drug list and rules. Check the exact product, approval requirement and pharmacy price. (25)
The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge is a different thing:
- It runs from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027. Eligible people pay $50 a month.
- It's for eligible weight-management prescriptions. Its own enrollment and clinical rules apply.
- Type 2 diabetes stays with Part D. CMS says people with type 2 diabetes are not eligible for the Bridge, even when Part D denies a GLP-1. A higher Part D copay does not move that prescription into the $50 program.
- Ozempic isn't on it. The named products are Wegovy injection and tablets, Foundayo, and Zepbound KwikPen only—not Zepbound single-dose pens or vials. (25)
- The $50 does not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket limit. The Bridge runs outside the regular Part D benefit. (26)
Also, the Ozempic commercial savings offer can't be used with Medicare, and Ro can't coordinate Medicare GLP-1 coverage. Use your Part D plan for Ozempic and CMS's GLP-1 Bridge information for the separate weight-management program. (18, 23)
Medicaid
Use your state and plan's own policy. The CareOregon example above has drug-trial requirements with specific exceptions; it is not a nationwide Medicaid rule. Look up your state plan's Ozempic rule, or call the member number on your card. (12)
CHAMPVA
OptumRx's CHAMPVA notice says that since January 1, 2025, Ozempic and Mounjaro are covered only with a type 2 diabetes diagnosis. It names prediabetes, weight loss and obesity as uses that do not qualify. (13)
Does coverage mean Ozempic is right for me?
No. Insurance approval and medical fit are different checks. Ozempic has a boxed warning about thyroid C-cell tumors seen in rodents; whether it causes these tumors in people is unknown. Do not use it if you or a family member has had medullary thyroid cancer, if you have multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN 2), or if you have had a serious allergic reaction to semaglutide or the product's ingredients. (14, 15)
Tell your prescriber about pancreas, gallbladder, kidney, eye or severe stomach-emptying problems, other diabetes medicines, pregnancy plans, and upcoming anesthesia or deep sedation. Nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, stomach pain and constipation can occur; serious reactions also need attention. (14, 15)
Stop using Ozempic and seek urgent medical help for signs of a serious allergic reaction. Stop using it and call your clinician right away for severe, lasting stomach pain, with or without vomiting. Read the full injection prescribing information or tablet prescribing information for your product. This guide is about coverage, not a dose or treatment plan. (14, 15)
How did we check this?
We read Optum Rx's published drug lists and compared the Ozempic entries. We then checked the published prices with the drug maker and the program rules at their sources, on September 23, 2026. The "What we actually verified" box near the top separates those checks from personal coverage and treatment information we did not test.
Here's exactly what we did:
- We read Optum Rx's documents directly. That includes the July 2026 Select and Premium lists, the May and August 2026 Pharmacy Passages, the January 2027 Select and Premium lists, and the January 2027 Select PA and step therapy lists.
- We compared real rules side by side. We lined up UnitedHealthcare's commercial policy, CareOregon's published Optum Rx guideline and the CHAMPVA member notice. They are labeled separately because a member notice is not a full approval policy.
- We checked prices at the source. Cash prices and savings-offer terms came from Novo Nordisk's own NovoCare pages, and Ro's prices from Ro's pricing page.
- We checked Medicare rules with CMS, the agency that runs Medicare.
The comparison columns, coverage-result table, savings examples and worksheet are our way of connecting those sources to the next question you need answered. The savings examples are calculations, not real patient bills. Reading a provider's published promise does not verify that it delivered that result to a patient.
The document dates and links below let you check the same evidence. A later plan update or a member-specific rule can change the answer; use the date and rule on your own notice.
When we recommend a provider anywhere on The RX Index, we score it with the RX Index Score, on five pillars: clinical legitimacy, care quality, transparency, access, and cost.
Frequently asked questions
Does OptumRx require prior authorization for Ozempic?
Yes on the standard sources reviewed here. Ozempic carries a PA code on the July 2026 and posted January 2027 Select and Premium lists. Some plans can approve it automatically from existing claims or diagnosis records. (1, 2, 3, 4, 11)
What tier is Ozempic on OptumRx?
Tier 2, the "preferred brand" level, on both the July 2026 and posted January 2027 Select and Premium lists. Your plan sets the dollar amount for Tier 2. (1, 2, 3, 4)
How many Ozempic pens will OptumRx cover?
The PA lists reviewed here print "1 syringe per 28 days" for Ozempic injection. Do not treat that wording as a promise about every pen or package. A starter pen can last six weeks; ask the pharmacist to check the exact NDC, quantity and days' supply against your plan's limit. (5, 6, 35)
Is Ozempic a specialty drug on OptumRx?
Ozempic isn't marked as a specialty drug on the standard lists reviewed here. That does not establish every plan's classification or required pharmacy. (1, 2, 3, 4)
Do I have to try metformin before OptumRx covers Ozempic?
UnitedHealthcare's 2026 policy does not name a metformin trial, and Ozempic is not on the separate 2027 Select step therapy list. Some plans have prior-treatment rules inside their PA criteria, as the CareOregon example shows. Ask what yours says. (11, 7, 12)
Does OptumRx cover Ozempic for prediabetes?
Prediabetes alone does not meet the type 2 diabetes requirement in the policies reviewed here. OptumRx's CHAMPVA notice specifically names prediabetes as a use it doesn't cover. (11, 12, 13)
Does the Ozempic savings card work with OptumRx?
Yes, if you meet the offer terms and have commercial coverage for Ozempic, including qualifying FEHB, ACA marketplace and state employee plans. You may pay as little as $25, but one-month savings are capped at $100. It doesn't work with Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE or VA drug coverage. (18)
How long does an OptumRx Ozempic approval last?
Under UnitedHealthcare's 2026 rule, 12 months. Ask your plan for your approval's end date so you can renew in time. (11)
Does an Ozempic approval also cover Wegovy or the Ozempic pill?
Don't assume it does. Wegovy is a separate product with its own coverage criteria. The Ozempic pill is also a separate product, so check the exact tablet. (3, 8, 15)
Can I use my local pharmacy?
Check whether it is in your plan's network. The Optum Rx app and website let you find participating pharmacies and compare costs. Your plan decides which pharmacies and supply lengths it covers. (28)
Why did my Ozempic price go up in January?
Check whether your deductible reset, your plan changed its cost sharing or drug list, or a savings offer changed. Compare the old and new claim for the same product, pharmacy and supply length before assuming the drug was dropped. (1, 18, 27)
Will OptumRx still cover Ozempic in 2027?
The posted January 1, 2027 Select and Premium standard lists retain Ozempic at Tier 2 with prior authorization and a quantity limit. Confirm your own 2027 benefit and approval period; the standard listing is not a personal guarantee. (3, 4)
Still not sure which GLP-1 program is right for you? Use our free matching tool to explore your options. Find My GLP-1 Path →
Sources
Public documents and published offers checked September 23, 2026. Effective dates are shown separately from the date checked. Provider pages establish what a provider states, not independently tested treatment outcomes.
- Optum Rx. Select Standard Formulary — July 1, 2026.
- Optum Rx. Premium Standard Formulary — July 1, 2026.
- Optum Rx. Select Standard Formulary — January 1, 2027.
- Optum Rx. Premium Standard Formulary — January 1, 2027.
- Optum Rx. Prior Authorization, Select Formulary — January 1, 2027.
- Optum Rx. Prior Authorization, Premium Formulary — July 1, 2026.
- Optum Rx. Step Therapy, Select Formulary — January 1, 2027.
- Optum Rx. Pharmacy Passages — May 2026; tablet change effective April 16.
- Optum Rx. Pharmacy Passages — August 2026.
- Optum Rx. Formulary updates and electronic prior authorization resources.
- UnitedHealthcare. Diabetes Medications: GLP-1 and Dual GIP/GLP-1 Receptor Agonists, Program 2026 P 1332-8 — effective July 1, 2026.
- CareOregon / Optum Rx. Diabetic GLP-1 Agonists (Weekly) guideline — effective July 21, 2026.
- OptumRx. CHAMPVA member notice — diabetes requirement effective January 1, 2025.
- Novo Nordisk. Ozempic injection prescribing information — revised May 2026.
- Novo Nordisk. Ozempic tablets and Rybelsus prescribing information — revised January 2026.
- Novo Nordisk. Wegovy prescribing information — revised June 2026.
- NovoCare. Ozempic savings and self-pay options.
- NovoCare. Diabetes Savings Offer eligibility and full terms.
- NovoCare Pharmacy. Ozempic self-pay prices, eligibility and offer deadlines.
- Novo Nordisk. Ozempic pill U.S. availability announcement — May 1, 2026.
- Ro. Weight-loss pricing.
- Ro. Free GLP-1 Insurance Coverage Checker and credit offer.
- Ro. Ozempic service, membership, insurance process and government-plan restrictions.
- Ro. Member testimonials and paid-testimonial disclosure.
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: Information for Providers.
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: Information for Part D Plans.
- OptumRx. Coverage and costs: member tools.
- OptumRx. Finding a pharmacy.
- HealthCare.gov. Internal appeals and records to keep.
- UnitedHealth Group. Optum Rx PreCheck Prior Authorization announcement — October 22, 2024.
- Sesame. Online diabetes visits and prescription/refund limitations.
- Sesame. Insurance and medication prior authorization FAQ.
- NovoCare. Patient Assistance Program: 2026 eligibility.
- Novo Nordisk. Announced 2027 U.S. list-price reduction — February 24, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk. Ozempic pen dosing and starter-pen supply.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss.
- Novo Nordisk. Victoza prescribing information: liraglutide once-daily dosing.
- National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. The A1C Test & Diabetes.