How Much Does It Cost to Make Ozempic? $0.96–$3.53 per Pen in a 2024 Model

By Kaden Coziar, Founder & Managing Editor · The RX Index Research · Updated September 2026

A 2024 study estimated $0.96–$3.53 to produce a semaglutide pen holding 4 mg, the drug content in Ozempic's 1 mg-dose pen. Doubling pen content from 2 mg to 4 mg added only 14–15 cents, according to The RX Index's September 2026 calculation from the study's tables. These are modeled costs, not Novo Nordisk's accounts.

So how much does it cost to make Ozempic? It depends on what you count. The drug itself is the cheap part: about 20 to 30 cents for 4 mg, using the ingredient inputs explained below. The pen, the factory work and the model's profit allowance add a few dollars more. Below, the Cost Ladder separates what the studies modeled from what companies charge. Sources: the 2024 model and 2026 model.

Key Ozempic cost-to-make statistics

  1. $0.96–$3.53 per 4 mg pen: the estimated cost to produce a semaglutide pen with the drug content in Ozempic's 1 mg-dose pen, before the model's added profit and tax, in 2023 dollars. Barber et al., JAMA Network Open, March 2024, Supplement 1, eTable 7.
  2. 14–15 cents: doubling a modeled pen's drug from 2 mg to 4 mg added only 14 to 15 cents to its production cost. The RX Index calculation from Barber et al. 2024, eTable 7, September 2026.
  3. $1.08–$5.74 per 4 mg pen: the same study's cost-based generic price after its profit and tax allowances, in 2023 dollars—not a pharmacy offer. Barber et al. 2024, eTable 7.
  4. About 20–30 cents for 4 mg of semaglutide: rough ingredient-only estimates calculated from the 2024 supplement's API price, eTable 4 and the 2026 paper's rounded ingredient cost. The RX Index calculation; not the cost of a finished pen.
  5. $0.89–$4.73 a study month: the source of the "less than $5" claim. It is a cost-based generic price, with profit and tax built in, at the study's 0.77 mg weekly reference dose. Barber et al., March 2024, Table 1.
  6. $28–$140 per person per year ($2.33–$11.67 per calendar-month equivalent): the range across the 2026 model's injectable scenarios, including a 30% profit allowance and 27% tax on that profit. The model uses 1.7 or 2.4 mg weekly target doses and single-use pens—not an Ozempic 1 mg-dose pen. Levi et al., Obesity, July 12, 2026; monthly figures calculated by The RX Index.
  7. $0.30–$2.50 per device: the disposable injection-pen cost used in the 2026 model, compared with about $0.01–$0.12 for the drug in each modeled dose. Levi et al., 2026, Results.
  8. ₹4,200 (about $43.84) per 4 mg pen at launch: Dr. Reddy's March 21, 2026 price in India. Ozempic's September 2026 U.S. list price is about 23 times that converted launch price, not a profit margin. Dr. Reddy's, Federal Reserve exchange rate, September 25, 2026 and NovoCare; The RX Index calculation.
  9. $276.78 per 4 mg/3 mL pen from January 1, 2027: Medicare's package-level negotiated-price amount for Ozempic NDC 00169-4130-13, not a patient's copay. The RX Index calculated CMS's unit price × the 3 mL package, checked September 29, 2026.
  10. $349 per offer month: Novo Nordisk's standard U.S. self-pay price for Ozempic pen doses through 1 mg; $499 for 2 mg. Its eligible new-patient starter offer is $199 for each of the first two fills. NovoCare terms, checked September 29, 2026.
  11. $675 from January 1, 2027: Ozempic's announced U.S. list price, about 34% below the $1,027.51 list price checked September 29, 2026. Novo Nordisk, February 24, 2026 and NovoCare; The RX Index calculation.
  12. $128.44–$513.76 per milligram at U.S. list price: the same $1,027.51 price across the three multidose pens means four times the price per milligram in the 2 mg-content starter pen as in the 8 mg-content pen. The RX Index calculation from NovoCare prices and pen contents, September 2026; not a dose-selection guide.
  13. 19.0% of sales: Novo Nordisk's cost of goods sold across the whole company in 2025, with a reported gross margin of 81.0%. These are company figures, not costs per Ozempic pen. Novo Nordisk Annual Report 2025; share calculated by The RX Index.

On this page: Every step · One pen · Twice the drug · The $5 claim · 2026 study · The pill · Generics · The gap · Novo's numbers · Why so expensive · Getting cheaper · Methods · Cite · Download · FAQ

Twice the drug added only 14–15 cents to the modeled cost of making a semaglutide pen

Twice the drug added only 14–15 cents to the modeled cost of making a semaglutide pen Doubling a modeled semaglutide pen's drug from 2 mg to 4 mg raises its production cost by 15 cents in the lower-cost scenario ($0.81 to $0.96) and 14 cents in the higher-cost scenario ($3.39 to $3.53). Twice the drug added only 14–15 cents to the modeled cost of making a semaglutide pen2 mg pen4 mg penLower-cost scenarioHigher-cost scenario$0$1$2$3$4$4.80Estimated cost to produce one pen before added profit and tax (2023 U.S. dollars)$0.81$0.96 (+$0.15)$3.39$3.53 (+$0.14)Source: The RX Index calculation from Barber et al., JAMA Network Open 2024, Supplement 1, eTable 7. Modeled generic costs, not Novo Nordisk'saccounts. 2 mg and 4 mg = total drug in the pen. therxindex.com/research/cost-to-make-ozempic/

Doubling a modeled semaglutide pen's drug from 2 mg to 4 mg raises its production cost by 15 cents in the lower-cost scenario ($0.81 to $0.96) and 14 cents in the higher-cost scenario ($3.39 to $3.53).

How much does one month of Ozempic cost at every step?

An Ozempic 1 mg-dose pen holds 4 mg of semaglutide in four weekly doses—a 28-day maintenance supply. For that drug content, the reference figures run from about 20 to 30 cents of ingredient to a $1,027.51 U.S. list price. The first figures are estimates; the last is a published price, not the manufacturer's revenue or a patient's bill.

We call this the Ozempic Cost Ladder. The 4 mg pen is the reference, but not every row is the same product: the UK price is for Wegovy, and the 2026 study uses higher target doses and single-use pens. The table labels those differences rather than calling them steps in one product's bill. Pen contents: Novo Nordisk prescribing information, section 16.

Table 1. The Ozempic Cost Ladder: 4 mg pen benchmarks, with different formats labeled
StepPublished or calculated amountWhat it counts
Semaglutide inside the reference penabout $0.20–$0.30 per 4 mgIngredient only; rough RX Index calculations from two models, before extra-drug and loss allowances
Cost to produce the 4 mg pen$0.96–$3.53 per pen2024 model, before its added profit and tax, 2023 dollars
Cost-based generic price for the 4 mg pen$1.08–$5.74 per pen2024 model, profit and tax included, 2023 dollars
Separate 2026 injectable model$2.33–$11.67 per calendar-month equivalentAnnual model ÷ 12; 1.7/2.4 mg weekly target doses and single-use pens, not the same Ozempic pen
India: generic 4 mg pen (Dr. Reddy's)₹4,200 ≈ $43.84 per penCompany launch price, March 21, 2026; converted at September 25 rates
UK list: Wegovy 1 mg-dose pen£73.25 ≈ $97.06 per four-dose packSame 4 mg total content, different brand; before VAT and the NHS's confidential discount; BNF price accessed March 2026
Medicare negotiated price, from Jan. 1, 2027$276.78 per Ozempic 4 mg/3 mL penCMS unit price × 3 mL; not a copay
U.S. cash price (NovoCare)$349.00 per Ozempic 1 mg-dose penStandard self-pay price, per 28-day offer month; eligibility applies
U.S. list price from Jan. 1, 2027$675.00 per Ozempic penAnnounced list price, not cash price
U.S. list price, checked Sept. 29, 2026$1,027.51 per Ozempic penSame listed price for all three multidose pens

Source: The RX Index Ozempic Cost Ladder, checked September 29, 2026. Built from Barber et al. 2024, Supplement 1, eTables 4 and 7; Levi et al., Obesity 2026; Dr. Reddy's; NICE TA1152; CMS's September 21, 2026 data file; NovoCare; NovoCare list price; Novo Nordisk. Exchange rates: Federal Reserve H.10, September 25, 2026 (₹95.81 per $1; $1.3250 per £1). Study costs are not inflation-adjusted to the price-check date.

4 mg semaglutide pen: $0.96–$3.53 modeled production; $1,027.51 U.S. list price

4 mg semaglutide pen: $0.96–$3.53 modeled production; $1,027.51 U.S. list price A 2024 model estimates $0.96–$3.53 to produce a 4 mg semaglutide pen. Its modeled cost-based price reaches $5.74. The chart shows the high endpoints beside dated same-content price benchmarks: India $43.84, UK Wegovy $97.06, Medicare 2027 $276.78, standard U.S. cash $349, 2027 list $675, and September 2026 list $1,027.51. These are different cost concepts and markets, not a manufacturer's profit margin. 4 mg semaglutide pen: $0.96–$3.53 modeled production; $1,027.51 U.S. list priceEach value is per whole 4 mg-content pen; model bars show high ends.$0$200$400$600$800$1,000$1,180Cost to produce the 4 mg pen, 2024 model (high end)$3.53Cost-based price for the 4 mg pen, 2024 model (high end)$5.74India: generic 4 mg pen (Dr. Reddy’s, March 2026 launch)$43.84UK list: Wegovy 1 mg-dose pen (four-dose pack)$97.06Medicare negotiated amount, from January 2027$276.78U.S. standard cash price, Ozempic 1 mg-dose pen$349.00U.S. list price from January 1, 2027$675.00U.S. list price checked September 29, 2026$1,027.51U.S. dollars per whole pen or four-dose pack2024 modelDated price benchmarkSource: The RX Index, Ozempic Cost Ladder, Sept 29, 2026. Barber et al. (JAMA Netw Open 2024, eTable 7; 2023 USD); Dr. Reddy’s (Mar 21, 2026); NICE TA1152; CMS(Sept 21 file); NovoCare; Novo Nordisk (Feb 24, 2026). FX: Federal Reserve H.10, Sept 25, 2026. No inflation adjustment. Not a profit-margin chart.therxindex.com/research/cost-to-make-ozempic/

A 2024 model estimates $0.96–$3.53 to produce a 4 mg semaglutide pen. Its modeled cost-based price reaches $5.74. The chart shows the high endpoints beside dated same-content price benchmarks: India $43.84, UK Wegovy $97.06, Medicare 2027 $276.78, standard U.S. cash $349, 2027 list $675, and September 2026 list $1,027.51. These are different cost concepts and markets, not a manufacturer's profit margin.

Picture the list price as a stack of about 1,027 one-dollar bills. By the 2024 model, making the pen and everything in it takes fewer than four of those bills. Its cost-based price, profit and tax included, takes fewer than six. That compares a 2026 price with 2023-dollar model outputs, not company accounting.

A note on "a month." The 4 mg Ozempic pen covers 28 days at its labeled 1 mg maintenance dose. A starter pen can cover longer than 28 days during the labeled starting schedule. The 2026 study reports yearly costs for a different regimen and pen format; dividing by 12 creates a calendar-month equivalent, not a cost for one Ozempic pen. Changing the day count alone would not make that a like-for-like comparison. Sources: the label and 2026 methods.

How much does it cost to make one Ozempic pen?

A 2024 study estimated $0.96 to $3.53 to produce a semaglutide pen holding 4 mg, and $0.81 to $3.39 for a pen holding 2 mg, before the model's added profit and tax (in 2023 dollars). Those are the amounts in Ozempic's 1 mg pen and its starter pen. The cited sources do not give Novo Nordisk's own cost per pen, so these are outside estimates of what an efficient generic maker would spend.

The study is Barber and colleagues in JAMA Network Open, March 27, 2024, from researchers at Yale, Harvard, King's College Hospital and Doctors Without Borders. Most coverage quoted its monthly figure. The pen-by-pen numbers sit in the study's supplement, in a table called eTable 7.

Table 2. What a semaglutide pen costs to make, 2024 model
Pen (total drug inside)Matching Ozempic penCost to produce, before added profit and taxCost-based generic price, with profit and taxRange of lowest prices across sampled countries, Jan. 2023
2 mgStarter pen (0.25 mg and 0.5 mg doses)$0.81–$3.39$0.95–$5.50$82.59–$427.70
4 mg1 mg pen$0.96–$3.53$1.08–$5.74$88.54–$861.03

Source: Barber et al., JAMA Network Open 2024, Supplement 1, eTable 7, checked September 29, 2026. U.S. dollars at 2023 costs. Pen matches from Novo Nordisk prescribing information. The study didn't model the 8 mg pen used for 2 mg doses.

"Cost to produce" versus "cost-based price"

These two columns answer different questions, so don't swap them.

Think of a sandwich shop. The bread, meat and wrapper are the cost to make it. The menu price adds a profit on top. The study did the same thing with semaglutide. The cost to produce adds up the drug, the other ingredients, filling and finishing, the pen, and an allowance for a generic maker to develop the product and get approved. Upstream supplier prices can already include supplier profit. The cost-based price then adds a profit (10% in the lean scenario, 50% in the cautious one) and a 25% tax on that profit (Barber et al., Figure 1).

The article's Table 1 footnote reverses the lower/upper scenario names relative to its Figure 1 methods. We therefore call the numerical endpoints "lower-cost" and "higher-cost" and keep the published figures unchanged. Source: Table 1 and Figure 1.

Why the range is so wide

The biggest swing is the pen itself. The study priced the pen plus its cartridge at $0.40 in its lean scenario and $2.83 in its cautious one. That container-cost difference is $2.43, compared with a $2.57 spread between $0.96 and $3.53 in total production cost. It is a comparison of model inputs, not a factory cost breakdown. Source: Figure 1 and eTable 7.

How Ozempic is made

The semaglutide in Ozempic is made using yeast. European regulators describe it as produced in Saccharomyces cerevisiae cells, a baker's-yeast species, using recombinant DNA technology (EMA product information, section 2). The finished medicine is a clear solution; unopened Ozempic pens are kept refrigerated (prescribing information, sections 11 and 16). For generic products and their approved markets, see our generic availability tracker.

Does twice the drug cost twice as much to make?

No. In the 2024 model, a pen holding 4 mg cost only 14 to 15 cents more to produce than a pen holding 2 mg. That's an increase of about 4% to 19%, not 100%. The comparison holds the study's scenario constant; it does not isolate the raw drug price from the rest of production. Source: eTable 7.

Here's the math, matching the study's low end with low end and high end with high end:

  • Lower-cost scenario: $0.96 − $0.81 = $0.15 more per pen (0.15 ÷ 0.81 × 100 = 18.5%)
  • Higher-cost scenario: $3.53 − $3.39 = $0.14 more per pen (0.14 ÷ 3.39 × 100 = 4.1%)

See the 14–15-cent chart above and Table 2.

The raw ingredient needs its own calculation. The 2024 supplement lists semaglutide API—active pharmaceutical ingredient—at $70,569 per kilogram in eTable 4. A kilogram is 1,000,000 mg, so 4 mg at that reference price works out to $0.282276, about 28 cents, before allowances for extra drug or losses. That input is not the same as the difference between two finished-pen costs. Source: eTable 4.

The 2026 study, using newer shipment prices, reports about $0.12 for a 2.4 mg dose, or roughly 5 cents per milligram. Scaling that rounded input to 4 mg gives about 20 cents (Levi et al., Results). Two different inputs put 4 mg of the ingredient at roughly 20–30 cents. Roughly a quarter—not a finished pen, a pharmacy offer, or a measured Novo Nordisk expense.

What this comparison does and doesn't show

It shows how little doubling the drug content changes the pen's total production cost in these model scenarios. It's arithmetic on rounded model outputs. It isn't a factory measurement, and it doesn't reveal Novo Nordisk's actual costs.

It also sets up something odd. Ozempic's list price doesn't move between pens either: $1,027.51 whether the pen holds 2 mg, 4 mg or 8 mg (NovoCare). More on that below.

Where does "Ozempic costs less than $5 to make" come from?

It comes from the same March 2024 study, which estimated injectable semaglutide could be sold for $0.89 to $4.73 a month. That figure is a cost-based selling price with profit and tax built in, calculated at a 0.77 mg weekly dose, the World Health Organization reference dose used in that study. It isn't Novo Nordisk's cost.

The number took off the day the study came out. Sen. Bernie Sanders said the Yale-led study found Ozempic "costs less than $5 a month to manufacture" (Senate HELP Committee, March 27, 2024). The separate 2026 Bloomberg headline discussed a newer model, covered below.

The study itself is careful. Its Table 1 labels the figure a cost-based price. It used shipment prices for the raw drug from January 2016 to March 2023, and it reported costs in 2023 dollars (Barber et al., Table 1 and Methods). A later correction changed the number of countries in its price comparison from 13 to 12 (JAMA Network Open correction, April 22, 2024). The cost figures didn't change.

Was the "$5" headline wrong?

It described a modeled cost-based price, not a disclosed factory cost. The same study's pen table puts the cost of producing a month's 4 mg pen at $0.96 to $3.53 before the model’s added profit and tax, and $1.08 to $5.74 with those allowances. For that 4 mg pen, both production-cost endpoints are under $5; the upper cost-based price is not. The study didn't model the pen for the 2 mg dose.

What each number counts

Many cost headlines mix up shots, pens, months and years. This table keeps them straight.

Table 3. What each published number counts
FigureUnitWhat it includes
$0.96–$3.53per 4 mg pen (a month of Ozempic 1 mg)Cost to produce, before the model’s added profit and tax; 2023 dollars
$1.08–$5.74per 4 mg penCost-based generic price with profit and tax; 2023 dollars
$0.89–$4.73per study month at 0.77 mg a weekCost-based generic price with profit and tax; 2023 dollars
$28–$140per person per year2026 cost-based price across 1.7/2.4 mg weekly target regimens; single-use pens
$0.01–$0.12per dose (0.25 mg to 2.4 mg)Drug ingredient only
$0.30–$2.50per pen deviceDevice only

Source: Barber et al. 2024 (Table 1; Supplement 1, eTable 7); Levi et al., Obesity 2026 (Abstract, Results). Checked September 29, 2026.

What does the 2026 research estimate?

The newer estimate, published in the journal Obesity on July 12, 2026, puts generic injectable semaglutide at $28 to $140 per person per year. That's $2.33 to $11.67 a month, including a 30% profit and a 27% tax on that profit. It's based on 33 shipments of the raw drug to and from India between November 2024 and November 2025.

The paper is by Levi, Cross, Ramesh, Venter and Hill, with Hill at the University of Liverpool (Obesity 2026;34(8):1545–1550). It first appeared as a preprint in March 2026, before publication of the peer-reviewed paper. The table below uses the final paper's reported values. It modeled Wegovy's higher maintenance doses, and it priced a new single-use pen for every weekly dose.

Table 4. Estimates for generic injectable semaglutide, 2026 model
Target weekly dose in the model—not treatment adviceTreatment yearPer person per yearCalendar-month equivalent (year ÷ 12)
1.7 mgFirst year$28–$134$2.33–$11.17
2.4 mgFirst year$29–$138$2.42–$11.50
1.7 mgLater years$28–$135$2.33–$11.25
2.4 mgLater years$30–$140$2.50–$11.67

Source: Levi et al., Obesity, published online July 12, 2026, Results, checked September 29, 2026. Monthly figures are The RX Index's calculation and aren't 28-day pharmacy prices. First-year figures include the study's dose-building period.

Where the "$3 a month" headline came from

That's the bottom of the range: $28 a year divided by 12 is $2.33. Bloomberg ran it as "under $3 a month" when the preprint came out (Bloomberg, March 6, 2026). The top of the same range is $11.67. Both ends include profit.

Why the pen is the expensive part

The raw drug is cheap: about $0.01 for a 0.25 mg dose and $0.12 for a 2.4 mg dose. A disposable pen costs $0.30 to $2.50. Those device and ingredient figures come from different parts of the model, so they are not enough to calculate one universal device-to-production-cost multiple (Levi et al., Results).

Their model assumed 52 single-use pens a year, one per week. The Ozempic 1 mg-dose pen holds four weekly doses, so 52 weeks at that maintenance dose uses 13 pens. Different device counts and drug amounts mean the 2026 figures are not a verified upper bound for the cost of producing Ozempic. Sources: the study and Ozempic package contents.

Why 2024 and 2026 aren't a trend line

The two studies used different doses, different pens and different years of price data. Reading them as "costs went up" would be wrong. They're two separate snapshots that happen to agree on the big picture.

Does the Ozempic pill cost more to make than the shot?

The older semaglutide tablets modeled in these studies cost more; neither study priced today's Ozempic pill formulation. In the 2024 model, 30 tablets of the older 7 mg strength cost $34.50 to $44.70 to produce. That's about 13 to 36 times the modeled production cost of a 4 mg pen when the corresponding higher- and lower-cost scenarios are compared—not a comparison of equal doses or clinical effects. The 2026 study put a year of generic 7 mg tablets at $186 to $193, with profit.

The reason is simple math. Thirty 7 mg tablets hold 210 mg of semaglutide. A month's Ozempic 1 mg pen holds 4 mg. That tablet supply contains 52.5 times as much drug. The routes do not deliver the drug to the body in the same way; this is not a dose-conversion rule. The 2026 authors point to the larger oral drug amounts; the 2024 model also includes SNAC, an added ingredient that helps absorption. Both count toward tablet cost. Sources: 2026 Results and 2024 methods.

Table 5. What semaglutide tablets cost to make, 2024 model
Tablet strengthCost to produce one tabletCost to produce 30 tabletsCost-based generic price per tablet, with profit and tax
3 mg$0.93–$1.21$27.90–$36.30$1.04–$1.96
7 mg$1.15–$1.49$34.50–$44.70$1.29–$2.42
14 mg$1.53–$1.98$45.90–$59.40$1.72–$3.22

Source: Barber et al., JAMA Network Open 2024, Supplement 1, eTable 7, checked September 29, 2026; 30-tablet figures are The RX Index's calculation. 2023 dollars.

The 2026 study's pill estimates, per person per year with profit: $186 (7 mg) and $344 (14 mg) in the first year, then $193 and $380 in later years. That's $15.50 to $31.67 a month (Levi et al., Results).

The U.S. Ozempic pill now comes in 1.5, 4 and 9 mg strengths, a newer formula that neither study modeled. Its list price is also $1,027.51 (NovoCare). Current cash prices for the pill are in our GLP-1 Price & Access Tracker.

What do generic semaglutide makers charge?

In India, two companies announced generic semaglutide pen prices on March 21, 2026: from ₹1,800 at Alkem and ₹4,200 at Dr. Reddy's, about $18.79 and $43.84 at September 25 exchange rates. These are dated launch offers, not a national price range or newly checked pharmacy quotes. Dr. Reddy's ₹4,200 pen can hold the same 4 mg as an Ozempic 1 mg-dose pen. Ozempic's September 2026 U.S. list price is about 23 times that converted launch price, and Novo Nordisk's $349 standard cash price is about 8 times. Sources: Dr. Reddy's, Alkem, Federal Reserve, and NovoCare.

These are prices announced by companies, not cost models. The announcements do not disclose a matching production-cost breakdown, so the difference cannot tell us each company's profit, taxes or distribution costs.

Table 6. March 2026 launch prices in India versus September 2026 U.S. prices
ProductDrug in the penAnnounced pen priceIn U.S. dollarsU.S. list / converted launch price
Dr. Reddy's Obeda (India)2 mg or 4 mg, at least 4 weekly doses₹4,200$43.8423.4× the price
Alkem Semasize, Obesema, Hepaglide (India)4-dose disposable pen; strength at the starting price not statedfrom ₹1,800from $18.79Not compared: strength not stated
Ozempic 1 mg (U.S., cash)4 mg, 4 weekly doses$349$349.00—
Ozempic 1 mg (U.S., list)4 mg, 4 weekly doses$1,027.51$1,027.51—

Source: Dr. Reddy's Form 6-K, March 21, 2026; Alkem Laboratories, March 21, 2026; NovoCare. Rupees converted at ₹95.81 per $1 (Federal Reserve H.10, September 25, 2026). Indian prices are launch prices. Checked September 29, 2026.

Can Americans buy these as FDA-approved generics? No final generic semaglutide approval appeared in FDA's drug-application data checked September 29, 2026. FDA lists Apotex's application ANDA 220314 as tentatively approved on April 7, 2026. Tentative approval does not permit U.S. marketing. Sources: FDA's semaglutide application data, Apotex's application record, and FDA's definition of tentative approval.

A generic launch in India does not establish approval or availability in the U.S. For the U.S. picture in plain terms, see whether a generic Ozempic is available in the U.S..

How many times the modeled cost does Ozempic sell for?

Using the 2024 model's upper cost-based price of $5.74 for a 4 mg pen as the reference, the September 2026 U.S. list price is about 179 times that amount. The standard $349 self-pay price is about 61 times it. These are nominal price-to-model comparisons: 2026–2027 prices divided by a 2023-dollar model, with no inflation adjustment. They are not Novo Nordisk's profit margins. Sources: eTable 7 and NovoCare prices.

Table 7. Named Ozempic 4 mg pen prices versus the 2024 model's $5.74 upper cost-based price
PriceAmount per penPrice / $5.74 model benchmark
Medicare negotiated amount, from Jan. 1, 2027 (4 mg/3 mL pen)$276.7848.2×
U.S. standard cash price, 1 mg-dose pen (4 mg content)$349.0060.8×
U.S. standard cash price, 2 mg-dose pen (8 mg content)$499.00Not compared: twice the drug content
U.S. list price from Jan. 1, 2027, 4 mg pen$675.00117.6×
U.S. list price checked Sept. 29, 2026, 4 mg pen$1,027.51179.0×

Source: The RX Index calculation, September 29, 2026, from Barber et al. 2024, eTable 7; CMS's September 21, 2026 negotiated-price data; NovoCare self-pay terms; Novo Nordisk, February 24, 2026; NovoCare list price. These named benchmarks are not every U.S. price, and do not include insurance copays or all savings offers.

Why the denominator matters

A lower ratio does not make a comparison more accurate. The newer study's upper $11.67 calendar-month equivalent uses higher target doses and single-use pens, not the Ozempic 4 mg pen. Dividing Ozempic's list price by that figure would mix regimens, devices and supply periods. Calling that a conservative estimate would not fix the mismatch.

The 2024 study lets us match 4 mg pen content. Against its upper cost-based price of $5.74, the list-price ratio is about 179; against its upper production cost of $3.53, it is about 291. But those compare a 2026 price with 2023-dollar model outputs, not Novo Nordisk's accounts, so they do not measure the company’s actual markup. Source: eTable 7.

One price for three multidose pens, a four-fold gap per milligram

The three Ozempic multidose pens have the same list price. So the pen price divided by its drug content swings a lot across presentations; that is not a separate price for the ingredient. A milligram of semaglutide costs $513.76 in the starter pen and $128.44 in the 2 mg pen, a four-fold gap in this calculation. Dr. Reddy's March 2026 launch price for a 4 mg pen works out to $10.96 per milligram at the stated exchange rate. This compares package prices, not interchangeable prescriptions. Sources: Dr. Reddy's and Federal Reserve.

Table 8. U.S. list price per milligram of semaglutide, by Ozempic pen
Ozempic pen (weekly dose)Drug in the penList price per mg checked Sept. 29, 2026 ($1,027.51)List price per mg from Jan. 1, 2027 ($675)
Starter pen (0.25 mg and 0.5 mg)2 mg$513.76$337.50
1 mg pen4 mg$256.88$168.75
2 mg pen8 mg$128.44$84.38

Source: The RX Index calculation from NovoCare list prices, Ozempic pen contents and Novo Nordisk's February 24, 2026 announcement. Checked September 29, 2026.

One list price across three Ozempic pens: a 4-fold gap per milligram

One list price across three Ozempic pens: a 4-fold gap per milligram At the September 29, 2026 list price, a milligram of semaglutide costs $513.76 in Ozempic's starter pen, $256.88 in the 1 mg pen and $128.44 in the 2 mg pen, because every pen costs $1,027.51. At the $675 price starting in 2027, the figures are $337.50, $168.75 and $84.38. One list price across three Ozempic pens: a 4-fold gap per milligramPackage price divided by total drug content; not ingredient cost or a dose guide.List price checked Sept 29, 2026 ($1,027.51 per pen)List price from Jan 1, 2027 ($675 per pen)$0$100$200$300$400$500$600$513.76$337.502 mg pen0.25/0.5 mg doses$256.88$168.754 mg pen1 mg doses$128.44$84.388 mg pen2 mg dosesU.S. list price per milligram of semaglutideSource: The RX Index calculation from NovoCare list prices, Ozempic pen contents (Novo Nordisk prescribing information), and Novo Nordisk's Feb24, 2026 announcement. therxindex.com/research/cost-to-make-ozempic/

At the September 29, 2026 list price, a milligram of semaglutide costs $513.76 in Ozempic's starter pen, $256.88 in the 1 mg pen and $128.44 in the 2 mg pen, because every pen costs $1,027.51. At the $675 price starting in 2027, the figures are $337.50, $168.75 and $84.38.

These are package-price calculations, not a reason to choose a higher-strength pen, split doses or change treatment. The right presentation is a prescribing decision.

What does Novo Nordisk say it costs to make Ozempic?

The sources reviewed do not disclose Novo Nordisk's cost per Ozempic pen. Across the whole company, its cost of goods sold was DKK 58.8 billion in 2025. That's 19.0% of sales, for a gross margin of 81.0%, down from 84.7% in 2024. When Bloomberg asked for Ozempic's production costs in 2024, the company declined.

In plain terms, a gross margin of 81% means that for every $100 of sales, about $19 went to the cost of the goods it sold. That covers everything Novo sells, not just Ozempic. Novo says its margin dipped because of costs tied to three factories it bought from Catalent, restructuring, expansion work and currency swings (Novo Nordisk Annual Report 2025).

Back in March 2024, Novo told Bloomberg it was investing heavily to meet demand. It cited about $6 billion in capital spending and $11 billion to buy the Catalent plants (Bloomberg, reprinted by the Irish Examiner, March 27, 2024). For company-level revenue from these drugs, see our GLP-1 Manufacturer Financials.

If it's this cheap to make, why is Ozempic so expensive?

Factory costs alone do not set the price. Patents, development spending and U.S. drug-pricing arrangements also matter. The cost studies price a generic copy made at scale. They leave out what it cost Novo Nordisk to discover semaglutide and run its large trials. And list price is not net revenue after rebates and discounts. Novo's annual report explains the effect of sales deductions on its reported sales. Source: Novo Nordisk Annual Report 2025.

The patent wall

FDA can withhold final generic approval while patent or exclusivity issues remain unresolved. Its tentative-approval status does not allow marketing. That is why a low production estimate is not a U.S. product launch. Source: FDA. See the generics section above for the checked U.S. status. Our GLP-1 Patent Expiration Tracker has the details.

List price versus what insurers pay

The $1,027.51 list price is a starting point, not a health plan's confirmed net price. Novo told Axios on February 24, 2026 it did not expect the list-price cut to change health plans' net prices. The company's own announcement also says the cut does not change direct-to-patient self-pay prices (Novo Nordisk). So the multiples on this page compare a published price with a model, not with Novo's actual take.

The two sides

The 2024 study's lead author, Yale economist Melissa Barber, told Bloomberg that "the profit margin is immense" (Bloomberg, reprinted by the Irish Examiner, March 27, 2024). Novo Nordisk pointed to its spending instead. In its March 2024 statement to CNBC, it cited almost $5 billion of research and development spending in 2023 and more than $6 billion for a manufacturing-expansion deal. Those were company-wide investments, not an audited cost for each Ozempic pen.

Those are different measures. The models estimate low production costs; the company's statements describe broader investment. Neither supplies the product-level accounts needed to calculate Ozempic's net profit. How much of development spending a price should recover is not settled by the pen-cost arithmetic.

Is Ozempic getting cheaper?

Its published cash price has fallen, and a lower list price is announced for 2027. Ozempic's U.S. list price drops about 34%, to $675, on January 1, 2027. That's the same day Medicare's negotiated price of $276.78 per 4 mg pen starts. Novo's cash price was set at $499 in August 2025, then fell to $349 for pen doses through 1 mg in November 2025; the 2 mg dose remained $499.

Table 9. Ozempic price changes, 2025–2027
DateChange
Aug. 18, 2025Novo Nordisk launches a $499-a-month cash price for Ozempic
Nov. 17, 2025Cash price drops to $349 a month; $499 remains for the 2 mg dose
Nov. 2025CMS announces $274 per 30-day equivalent supply for the selected semaglutide group (Ozempic, Rybelsus and Wegovy), 71% below its $959 2024 list-price benchmark; not the price of every package
Feb. 24, 2026Novo announces a $675 list price for Ozempic, Wegovy and Rybelsus, effective Jan. 1, 2027
Jan. 1, 2027The $675 list price and Medicare's $276.78-per-pen price take effect

Source: Novo Nordisk releases of August 18, 2025, November 17, 2025 and February 24, 2026; CMS negotiated prices, 2027; CMS package-price data. Checked September 29, 2026.

This is why the question matters right now. The Indian companies announced generic launches in March 2026, while Novo announced a future U.S. list-price cut. These are real changes in published offers, not evidence that production costs changed by the same amount. Sources: Dr. Reddy's, Alkem, and Novo Nordisk.

CMS's $276.78 per pen figure is reproducible: its September 21 data file lists $92.260313 per unit (mL) for NDC 00169-4130-13. Multiply by the label's 3 mL package: $92.260313 × 3 = $276.780939, rounded to $276.78. The $274 headline is a separate, standardized 30-day-equivalent amount across the selected semaglutide drug group. Neither is a patient's copay. Sources: CMS data file, CMS fact sheet, and package size.

The current $199 new-patient starter offer covers each of the first two eligible fills, then standard pricing applies. NovoCare's terms require the prescription to be written and received by December 31, 2026, and shipped by January 31, 2027. That offer does not apply to every dose or patient. Source: NovoCare eligibility terms, checked September 29, 2026.

What you'll actually pay depends on your coverage. Our guide to what Ozempic costs with insurance walks through plan scenarios. If you have commercial coverage, the Ozempic savings card may lower your copay. Without coverage, compare cheaper ways to get semaglutide without insurance. More current channel and coverage details are in the GLP-1 Price & Access Tracker.

If you're weighing your own options, Find My GLP-1 Path is a free two-minute tool that matches choices to your insurance and budget.

How we built this

We checked the cited records on September 29, 2026. Here is what we collected and how we worked with them.

The two cost studies:

  • Barber et al., JAMA Network Open (March 27, 2024), with its Table 1, Figure 1, Supplement 1 (eTables 1, 4 and 7) and published correction. We transcribed the study's outputs; we did not rerun its original production model.
  • Levi et al., Obesity (published online July 12, 2026), from the full text on PubMed Central. We used its final reported annual estimates and rounded cost inputs, not a fresh analysis of its underlying shipment records.

Prices:

  • Ozempic list and cash prices from NovoCare. The list-price page's rendered text showed $1,027.51; older $997.58 text remained in its underlying markup. We used the visible current price, not the hidden older value.
  • Price changes from Novo Nordisk's own announcements.
  • Medicare's prices from CMS's September 21, 2026 data release. For NDC 00169-4130-13, we multiplied its $92.260313 per-mL amount by the label's 3 mL package and rounded to cents.
  • Indian prices from Dr. Reddy's SEC filing and Alkem's launch release. These remain March 21, 2026 launch prices; we did not check pharmacy transactions or confirm unchanged September offers.
  • The UK price from NICE, England's health technology agency: the March 2026 BNF list price reported in TA1152, for Wegovy, before VAT and any confidential discount.
  • Exchange rates from the Federal Reserve's H.10 release for September 25, 2026.

Our calculations:

  • Annual estimates divided by 12 for calendar-month equivalents, without turning them into Ozempic pen costs.
  • The pen-content difference, matching low with low and high with high; each percentage uses the matching 2 mg pen cost as its denominator.
  • Ingredient-only examples from the 2024 supplement's $70,569/kg input and the 2026 paper's rounded $0.12 per 2.4 mg input. These do not include extra-drug or loss allowances.
  • 30 tablets times the per-tablet production cost; oral-to-pen comparisons use matched model scenarios and are not clinical dose comparisons.
  • List price divided by the total milligrams in each pen.
  • Named 4 mg-pen prices divided by the 2024 model's $5.74 upper cost-based price for Table 7. No inflation adjustment; no ratio for the unmatched 8 mg pen.
  • Rupees divided by 95.81 and pounds multiplied by 1.3250. Ratios use unrounded currency conversions, then round for display.
  • The 2027 list-price reduction: (1 − 675 ÷ 1,027.51) × 100 = 34.3%.
  • Company-wide 2025 cost of goods sold: 58,788 ÷ 309,064 × 100 = 19.0%, using figures in DKK millions from the annual report.

What we checked directly: the listed numeric inputs against the papers, manufacturer materials, regulator records or the company's annual report. Historical statements and quotes are attributed to the reporters who obtained them; they are not treated as factory-accounting data. The 2024 supplement's numbers were checked in parsed text; a visual render of eTable 7 was unavailable in this audit. The Ozempic package table and CMS headline-price table were also checked visually.

What we did not reproduce: the authors' original factory-cost models or the 2026 study's 33 underlying commercial shipment records. Our verified contribution is the transcription, dated comparisons and arithmetic shown here. The 2026 paper says its supporting data are available from the corresponding author on reasonable request. Source.

Reproduce it: download the dataset below. Every row lists its source, the exact table or section and the check date. Each calculated row also gives its formula. Source-value, input and calculation records are labeled separately. Money, percentages and physical quantities use separate fields; a blank means not applicable or not established, never zero.

We didn't collect factory data, survey anyone or run a clinical study.

What this data does and doesn't show

It shows what published models estimate an efficient generic maker would spend, alongside dated Ozempic prices and clearly labeled other-product benchmarks. It doesn't show:

  • Novo Nordisk's actual cost per pen. The sources reviewed do not disclose it.
  • Novo's profit per Ozempic pen. A published price minus an outside cost model is not a product-level profit calculation.
  • The price you'll pay. That depends on your coverage and the channel you buy through.

The models do not allocate Novo Nordisk's actual discovery and clinical-development spending to each pen. That does not mean they omit every generic-development, capital or operating-cost allowance. The 2024 figures use 2023 dollars and older price data. The Indian prices are launch prices from March 2026. None of this is medical advice. Talk with your clinician or pharmacist before changing how you get or take any medicine.

How to cite this page

Kaden Coziar. "How Much Does It Cost to Make Ozempic? $0.96–$3.53 per Pen in a 2024 Model". The RX Index Research. Updated September 29, 2026. https://therxindex.com/research/cost-to-make-ozempic/

You may reuse The RX Index's original calculations, table arrangement and original chart graphics with credit to The RX Index. Keep the underlying source attribution and follow any source license terms; this permission does not cover third-party text or graphics.

Download the data

File: Download ozempic-cost-ladder.csv (free, no sign-up)

What's inside: 105 rows. Every row keeps its original unit and carries its source link, table or section, check date, verification status and formula.

Row groups:

  • The Cost Ladder
  • The 2024 study's pen and tablet rows
  • The 2024 monthly rows
  • The 2026 study's yearly rows
  • The 2026 cost inputs
  • Our calculations
  • Indian and U.S. prices
  • Novo Nordisk's company-wide cost figure

Frequently asked questions

Does Ozempic really cost less than $5 to make?

By the 2024 model, yes, for a pen holding 4 mg—the content in Ozempic's 1 mg-dose pen. Its production cost is $0.96–$3.53; the separate cost-based price is $1.08–$5.74 after profit and tax allowances, in 2023 dollars. The famous $0.89–$4.73 figure uses the study's 0.77 mg weekly reference dose, not a disclosed Novo Nordisk expense. Source: Table 1 and eTable 7.

How much does Ozempic cost directly from the manufacturer?

Standard self-pay pricing is $349 per offer month for pen doses through 1 mg and $499 for 2 mg through NovoCare Pharmacy; eligible new patients can get the starter pen for $199 for each of the first two fills. Novo defines an injection offer month as 28 days, and the stated eligibility and offer deadlines apply. The $1,027.51 list price is different; Novo has announced $675 from January 1, 2027. Sources: current self-pay terms, list price and 2027 announcement.

Is the estimate per shot, per pen or per month?

It depends on the number. The $0.96–$3.53 estimate is per 4 mg pen; the $0.89–$4.73 estimate is per study month at 0.77 mg weekly; and the $28–$140 range is per person-year in a different 2026 model. A 4 mg Ozempic pen covers four weekly 1 mg doses, but not every pen or regimen is a 28-day supply. Table 3 lines them up, using the 2024 study, 2026 study and product label.

How much is the drug inside an Ozempic pen worth?

Roughly 20–30 cents for 4 mg using the two papers' ingredient inputs, not the finished-pen cost. The 2024 supplement's $70,569/kg reference gives about 28 cents; scaling the 2026 paper's rounded $0.12 per 2.4 mg gives about 20 cents. These calculations exclude extra-drug and loss allowances and do not reveal what Novo Nordisk actually spends. The full math and sources.

Does the same estimate apply to Wegovy?

The same active ingredient does not make every package cost the same. The 2026 study's 1.7 mg and 2.4 mg weekly target scenarios estimate $28–$140 per person-year using single-use pens; those are the modeled formats, not every Wegovy product sold today. NovoCare lists Wegovy packages at $1,349.02, a published list price rather than a patient cash price. Sources: the 2026 model and NovoCare; more product and channel detail is in our GLP-1 Price & Access Tracker.

Why is Ozempic so expensive if it's cheap to make?

Factory costs alone do not set the price: patents, development spending, rebates and discounts also matter. FDA's data checked September 29, 2026 showed no final generic semaglutide approval; Apotex's April 7 action was tentative, which does not allow U.S. marketing. A cost model and a list price do not reveal Novo Nordisk's profit per pen. Sources: FDA records, tentative approval, FDA's definition and company accounts.

Will Ozempic get cheaper in 2027?

Novo has announced a roughly 34% list-price cut to $675 on January 1, 2027, and the $276.78 negotiated amount for the 4 mg/3 mL pen starts that day. The list-price announcement does not change self-pay prices, and the negotiated amount is not a patient's copay. Those figures do not establish how every patient's bill will change. Sources: Novo Nordisk and CMS.

Can I buy semaglutide at the estimated price?

No—the studies are models, not offers you can buy. Two Indian companies announced March 2026 launch prices of from ₹1,800 and ₹4,200, about $18.79 and $43.84 at our stated exchange rate; the lower starting price does not identify the same pen strength. Those announcements do not establish an FDA-approved U.S. generic offer. Sources: Dr. Reddy's, Alkem and FDA records; for U.S. options, see cheaper ways to get semaglutide without insurance.

Sources

All checked September 29, 2026.

  1. Barber MJ, Gotham D, Bygrave H, Cepuch C. Estimated Sustainable Cost-Based Prices for Diabetes Medicines. JAMA Network Open. 2024;7(3):e243474. Published March 27, 2024. Table 1, Figure 1, Methods.
  2. Same study, Supplement 1, eTable 1 (inputs), eTable 4 (API reference price) and eTable 7 (semaglutide pen and tablet rows). Also available through the main article's Supplementary Material link; parsed-text check, not a successful visual table audit.
  3. Error in Reported Number of Countries. JAMA Network Open. Published April 22, 2024.
  4. Levi J, Cross S, Ramesh N, Venter F, Hill A. How Low Could Semaglutide Prices Fall? An Analysis of Production Cost and Implications for Global Access. Obesity. 2026;34(8):1545–1550. Published online July 12, 2026. doi:10.1002/oby.70241. Abstract, Methods, Results, Discussion.
  5. Same study, medRxiv preprint, posted March 4, 2026.
  6. NovoCare. Ozempic list price and insurance coverage explained.
  7. NovoCare. NovoCare Pharmacy: Ozempic self-pay terms and Ozempic Price Guide (May 2026).
  8. Novo Nordisk. Significant reduction in US list price for Wegovy, Ozempic, and Rybelsus. February 24, 2026.
  9. Novo Nordisk. Introductory self-pay offer and $349 standard price. November 17, 2025.
  10. Novo Nordisk. Ozempic at $499 per month for self-paying patients. August 18, 2025.
  11. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Selected Drug List and Negotiated Prices, September 21, 2026 CSV/XLSX release ZIP. File CMS_Negotiation_Program_Selected_Drug_List_and_Maximum_Fair_Price_Data_File_20260921.csv; NDC 00169-4130-13; IPAY 2027. Per-pen amount calculated from unit price and package volume.
  12. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Fact sheet: negotiated prices for 2027, semaglutide group row. Standardized $274 amount and 2024 comparison benchmark, not a universal per-package price.
  13. Dr. Reddy's Laboratories. Form 6-K, Exhibit 99.1: launch of Obeda semaglutide injection. March 21, 2026.
  14. Alkem Laboratories. Launch of semaglutide injection in India. March 21, 2026.
  15. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. TA1152, section 2: Information about semaglutide. BNF prices accessed March 2026.
  16. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Foreign Exchange Rates, H.10. Release of September 28, 2026 (rates for September 25, 2026).
  17. Novo Nordisk. Annual Report 2025: Financial performance.
  18. Novo Nordisk. Prescribing Ozempic: pen strengths and days' supply.
  19. European Medicines Agency. Ozempic product information, section 2.
  20. U.S. Senate HELP Committee. Sanders Statement on Outrageous Cost of Ozempic. March 27, 2024.
  21. Bloomberg. Generic Ozempic Could Cost Less Than $3 a Month, Study Shows. March 6, 2026.
  22. Langreth R, Muller M, Bloomberg, reprinted by the Irish Examiner. Weight-loss drug could be profitably made for as little as €4.40 a month. March 27, 2024. Original reporting of the company response and Barber quote; not the source of our model values.
  23. Constantino AK, CNBC. Novo Nordisk’s Ozempic can be made for less than $5 a month: study. March 27, 2024. Original reporting of Novo's statement on 2023 R&D and manufacturing investment; not the source of our cost estimates.
  24. Axios. Novo Nordisk cuts sticker price of weight-loss drugs. February 24, 2026.
  25. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Semaglutide applications, openFDA/Drugs@FDA, data last updated September 29, 2026; Apotex ANDA 220314; tentative-approval definition.
  26. NovoCare. Wegovy medicines and list prices. Checked September 29, 2026. The RX Index's Price & Access Tracker and generic availability tracker are related reading, not primary evidence for the figures above.

The RX Index Research is the research and reference section of therxindex.com, published by Kozi Publishing LLC.