Heads up: The RX Index is not Ro. Some links on this page are affiliate links, marked "Sponsored link." If you join through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we report. How we make money →
Yes — Ro GLP-1 prior authorization help covers eligible commercial and FEHB plans for Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound autoinjector pens. Ro estimates 1–2 weeks for insurer review. Membership costs $39 first month, then $149 monthly or $74/month with a year prepaid. Medicine costs extra, and insurance does not cover membership.12
By The RX Index Editorial Team · Last verified: September 2026 (public sources checked September 22, 2026) · How we checked this ↓
The RX Index is the independent GLP-1 decision resource that scores telehealth providers and treatment paths on clinical legitimacy, care quality, transparency, access, and cost, so readers can choose the path that fits their situation.
Here's the part to check before you pay: your Ro membership starts when your provider writes the prescription and shares your care plan — even if your insurer has not approved coverage. That's fine if you know the math. Below, we show the costs in common outcomes, which drugs Ro lists for insurance help, and the six questions that tell you where a stuck request really stands.3
What changes the answer:
- On Medicare, Medigap or TRICARE? You may qualify to join Ro and pay cash, but Ro won't handle those insurance benefits.
- On Medicaid? Ro can't treat you.
- Want the Zepbound KwikPen, Foundayo pill or Wegovy pill? Ro says it can't check insurance for those. On Ro, they're cash-pay, advertised at $149–$449 per fill depending on the drug, dose and offer. Membership costs extra.
- Does your plan exclude weight-loss drugs? (An exclusion means your plan leaves that benefit out.) A routine PA does not add a missing benefit. First check whether the exclusion applies to your prescribed use and whether the plan offers an exception or appeal.
Our take — Ro is best for you if: you have eligible commercial or federal employee insurance, you want the Wegovy, Zepbound or Ozempic pen, and you need a clinician who can assess treatment and handle the paperwork. A new provider still has to decide whether the medicine is right for you.
Ro is not the right insurance path for you if: you need Ro to bill Medicare or TRICARE, you have Medicaid, or you need a pill or the KwikPen covered through Ro. If your doctor already handles the prescription and PA, compare that office's costs before adding a Ro membership.1
| At a glance | What it means |
|---|---|
| Ro does | Checks your benefits, files a PA if needed, answers your insurer, can appeal or assess another GLP-1 |
| You do | Finish the online visit, get labs if asked, upload your insurance card, pick up at your pharmacy |
| You pay | $39 first month, then $149 month-to-month or $888 prepaid for 12 months ($74/month equivalent), plus your pharmacy charge |
Ro's service limits and public membership prices were checked September 22, 2026.12
Haven't joined Ro yet? Keep reading. The next three sections tell you whether Ro can help with your drug and your plan. Already waiting on Ro? Jump to the checkpoint map and status helper ↓
### See what your plan says first — free Ro's free GLP-1 Insurance Coverage Checker contacts your insurance about the Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound pens and emails you a report. You don't need a membership, and new Ro accounts get a $50 credit. In Ro's own checker data (August 13, 2024–April 17, 2025), 43% of users had a plan that covered a GLP-1 for weight loss. That is a historical finding about checker users, not your odds of approval.45 Check my coverage free on Ro → Sponsored link. The check doesn't start a prior authorization or write a prescription. Ro can't check the KwikPen, Foundayo or Wegovy pill.
### What we actually verified
- We opened eight Ro pages on September 22, 2026: pricing, insurance, How It Works, the coverage checker, the 2025 coverage report, the ro.OS insurance page, Ro's article on its Prior Authorization Details Page, and Ro's Terms of Use.
- We recorded the listed single-fill prices and separated them from membership fees and extra multi-month medication discounts.
- We lined up seven time estimates from Ro's insurance and How It Works pages, without treating them as a guaranteed schedule.
- We read Ro's terms on when membership starts, billing, refunds and cancelling.
- We checked the Wegovy and Zepbound savings-card limits on the drug makers' own sites.
- We checked federal decision deadlines against Department of Labor and CMS guidance.
- We checked Ro's Trustpilot profile and the testimonials quoted below.
- What we didn't do: join Ro, submit a real prior authorization, or log into a member account.
The right GLP-1 provider isn't the same for everyone — it depends on your state, your insurance and formulary, whether you want an FDA-approved or compounded medication, your preferred form (injection or pill), and your budget. Because a general answer can't resolve those for you, use The RX Index's Find My GLP-1 Path tool to compare provider matches and source-linked pricing before you choose. The tool does not check your live insurance benefits or guarantee your price. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved.67
How Ro GLP-1 prior authorization works, step by step
Ro's GLP-1 prior authorization starts after a Ro provider writes your prescription. Then Ro's insurance team checks your benefits, sends the prior authorization if your plan needs one, and handles follow-up questions. Your insurer makes the final decision, and an approved prescription goes to the pharmacy you picked.18
A prior authorization (PA) is a review your plan may require before it agrees to cover a drug. It can end in approval or denial. Ro's own coverage report says that even when a plan covers these drugs, it usually wants this extra paperwork first.95
Ro spreads its process across several pages. We put it in one place:
| Step | What happens | How long (Ro's estimate) | Your job |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Online visit | You answer health questions and verify who you are | Ro says you'll know if you're eligible within 2 days | Answer honestly |
| 2. Prescription | A Ro-affiliated provider prescribes if it's right for you and shares the care plan. Labs may be ordered. Your membership starts here. | — | Do any labs quickly |
| 3. Benefits check | Ro's insurance team checks what your plan covers for that drug | Part of Ro's 1–3 week window | Upload clear photos of your insurance card, front and back |
| 4. PA sent | Ro's outside pharmacy partner sends the request, using details from your visit and check-ins | Insurer review: about 1–2 weeks | Answer any request from Ro the same day |
| 5. Decision | Approved: prescription goes to your pharmacy. Denied: Ro can appeal or try another GLP-1 | Ro estimates 1–2 days for pharmacy preparation after approval; stock can delay it | Pick up and pay your share |
Process sources: Ro's insurance page, ro.OS insurance page and membership terms.183
Who actually does the work:
- Ro's providers make the medical call.
- Ro's insurance team runs the paperwork. Ro's terms say this help comes "through our partner," and Ro's ro.OS page says an external pharmacy partner submits the requests.
- Your insurer or PBM decides. (A PBM, or pharmacy benefit manager, is the company that runs your drug coverage — like CVS Caremark, Express Scripts or Optum Rx.)
- Your pharmacy fills it.
One timing detail: Ro's terms say its medical care runs weekdays, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern, not counting holidays. A question sent Saturday may wait until Monday.3
Where you'll see progress: Ro built a Prior Authorization Details Page inside each member's account. Ro says it opens as soon as a request starts and shows your status, timeline and options, with push alerts when something changes. Ro reports that after launch, PA-related messages to its care team dropped by nearly 17%. That is Ro's own launch result, not a measure of approval speed.10
Which GLP-1s will Ro do a prior authorization for?
Ro's pricing page names three drugs for its insurance check and paperwork: the Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound pens. Ro says it can't check insurance coverage for the Zepbound KwikPen, Foundayo pill or Wegovy pill, so on Ro those are cash-pay. This was checked on Ro's site September 22, 2026.
This table combines Ro's pricing page, its coverage checker and its menu. The key distinction is whether Ro offers insurance help for that form — not just whether the drug appears on its site.
Which GLP-1s Ro will file for (September 22, 2026)
| Drug on Ro's menu | Ro's free checker can check it? | Named for Ro's insurance help? | Advertised cash price per fill, before membership | On Ro, this is… |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wegovy pen (0.25–2.4 mg) | Yes | Yes | $199 for eligible new patients' first two 28-day fills of 0.25 or 0.5 mg; qualifying fills must be completed by Dec. 31, 2026. Standard self-pay price: $349 for 0.25–2.4 mg. | Insurance or cash |
| Wegovy HD (7.2 mg) | Not stated separately | Not named separately | $399 | Ask Ro about insurance for this exact strength |
| Ozempic pen | Yes | Yes | No separate cash quote on the pricing page we checked | Insurance or cash; Ro's main page lists both |
| Zepbound pen (single-dose autoinjector) | Yes | Yes | No separate cash quote on the pricing page we checked | Insurance or cash; Ro's main page lists both |
| Zepbound KwikPen | No — Ro says it can't | No | $299 (2.5 mg), $399 (5 mg), $449 (7.5–15 mg with the manufacturer's offer) | Cash |
| Foundayo pill | No | No | $149 (0.8 mg); $149 (2.5 mg, limited-time offer); $199 (5.5 mg, limited-time offer); $299 (9 mg); $299 (14.5 and 17.2 mg with the manufacturer's offer) | Cash |
| Wegovy pill | No | No | $149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg), $299 (9 and 25 mg) | Cash |
| Saxenda | Not stated | Not listed among Ro's three insurance-supported medications | Not on Ro's price list | Ask Ro before enrolling for this drug |
Sources: Ro's pricing, insurance, coverage checker and main weight-loss pages; manufacturer offer terms. Checked September 22, 2026.21411121314
The offer details that change the price: The $199 Wegovy injection offer has new-patient rules and covers only two qualifying fills, not indefinite refills. Lilly's discounted higher-dose Zepbound and Foundayo offers require refills within 45 days of the prior delivery to keep the offer price. Foundayo's lower prices for 2.5 mg and 5.5 mg are temporary through December 31, 2026.121314
Without the applicable Lilly offer, its published single-fill self-pay prices are $499 for Zepbound 7.5 mg and $699 for 10–15 mg; Foundayo is $199 for 2.5 mg, $299 for 5.5 mg and $349 for 14.5 or 17.2 mg. Those are manufacturer prices, not a quote for a future Ro charge. Check your refill price before paying.1314
How to read the costs: Injection offers generally cover a 28-day supply; pill offers cover a 30-day supply. Neither is the Ro membership fee. The table uses single-fill prices, not Ro's separate multi-month medication offers. Dose changes belong to your prescriber, not the price table.2121314
Want Foundayo, the Wegovy pill or the KwikPen covered by insurance?
Ro isn't the tool for that today. Ask your own doctor whether they will prescribe the drug and submit your plan's required request. A prescription does not guarantee coverage. See how to get Foundayo online and Wegovy pill providers that accept insurance. If you just want the pill or KwikPen at a fair cash price, compare the table above with your dose and offer terms. Ro says it matches manufacturer cash prices, and membership is separate.2
Ozempic is a diabetes drug
Ozempic pen is FDA-approved for type 2 diabetes and certain heart and kidney risk reductions in adults with type 2 diabetes — not for weight loss alone. In Ro's checker data, nearly all users had coverage for a GLP-1 for type 2 diabetes. That does not mean someone without diabetes qualifies for that coverage. If you don't have diabetes, the weight-loss drugs to ask your plan about include Wegovy or Zepbound.155
Other uses some plans cover even when they exclude weight-loss treatment
Some GLP-1s have FDA-approved uses beyond weight loss, and some plans treat those uses differently:
- Zepbound is FDA-approved for moderate-to-severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity.16 See does insurance cover Zepbound for sleep apnea.
- Wegovy is FDA-approved to lower the risk of heart attack, stroke and heart-related death in adults with established cardiovascular disease and obesity or overweight.17 See does insurance cover GLP-1 for heart disease.
- Wegovy injection also has FDA approval for adults with MASH, a form of liver disease, with moderate-to-advanced liver scarring but no cirrhosis.18
These only apply if a doctor has actually diagnosed the condition. Tell Ro your real medical history — nothing more, nothing less. Your plan may need records for that use, and approval of one form or dose does not establish coverage for every other form or dose. Ro's insurance help is not a promise that Ro treats each condition.
These medicines require a prescription and have serious risks as well as possible benefits. Review the medication safety information with your clinician before treatment.
Does Ro do prior authorization with Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE or FEHB?
Ro's insurance help is for eligible commercial plans and Federal Employees Health Benefits (FEHB) plans. Commercial insurance includes job-based and individually purchased coverage. People with Medicare, Medigap or TRICARE may qualify for cash-pay treatment, but Ro won't coordinate those benefits. Ro says Medicaid members aren't eligible for treatment on Ro.1
| Your insurance | Will Ro file your PA? | Can you join Ro? | Better place to start |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial plan — employer or individually purchased | For supported medication and eligible coverage; confirm your specific plan | If clinically eligible | Ro's free coverage check |
| FEHB (federal employee plans) | Yes — Ro names FEHB as eligible | If clinically eligible | Ro's free coverage check |
| Medicare, Medicare Advantage or Medigap | No government-benefit coordination through Ro | Certain cash-pay options, if eligible | Medicare GLP-1 Bridge and your Part D drug coverage |
| TRICARE | No | Certain cash-pay options, if eligible | GLP-1 providers that accept TRICARE |
| Medicaid | No | No under Ro's published policy | What GLP-1 does Medicaid cover? |
| No insurance | No insurance PA needed for a cash purchase | If clinically eligible | Ro vs LillyDirect |
Source: Ro's insurance information, checked September 22, 2026. Being able to join does not mean your drug will be covered.1
On Medicare? Check your benefits before adding a cash-pay membership. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge offers eligible Part D members a $50 copay for a monthly supply from July 1, 2026 through December 31, 2027. Its list includes Wegovy injections and tablets, Foundayo tablets and the Zepbound KwikPen — not every Zepbound form. You must meet its clinical rules; Part D enrollment alone is not enough. A prescriber and pharmacy handle the process. Treatment for an indication already coverable by Part D uses the regular Part D path instead.19 See how the Bridge works →
Have Kaiser? Kaiser pharmacy rules differ by plan. Before you pay Ro, ask Kaiser whether it covers a GLP-1 prescribed by an outside clinician, and where you'd have to fill it. What GLP-1 does Kaiser cover? →
Which rulebook is Ro filing against?
Ro doesn't set the rules. Your health plan sets your benefits, and an insurer or pharmacy benefit manager may apply the drug rules. The company on your card does not tell you everything your employer or plan covers. Use our guides to find the right questions, then get the rules for your exact plan:
| Your card says | Read this before your PA goes in |
|---|---|
| CVS Caremark | CVS Caremark Zepbound PA · Does CVS Caremark cover Wegovy? |
| Express Scripts | Express Scripts Zepbound PA · Does Express Scripts cover Wegovy? |
| Optum Rx | OptumRx Zepbound PA · Does OptumRx cover Wegovy? |
| Blue Cross / Blue Shield | Blue Cross Zepbound PA · Does Blue Cross cover Wegovy? |
| Cigna | Cigna Zepbound PA · Cigna Wegovy PA |
| Aetna | Aetna Zepbound PA · Aetna Wegovy PA |
| UnitedHealthcare | Does UHC cover Zepbound? · Does UHC cover Wegovy? |
| FEP Blue | GLP-1 providers that accept FEP Blue |
| GEHA | Does GEHA cover Wegovy? |
How long does Ro's prior authorization take?
Ro says an insurer usually reviews a GLP-1 prior authorization in about 1–2 weeks, and Ro's broader insurance process takes about 2–3 weeks. Those are estimates, not a promised pickup date. It can take longer if your insurer asks for more records or your pharmacy is short on stock.120
Ro gives several time estimates. Some overlap, and their starting points are not always clear. Here are seven statements side by side — not seven steps to add together:
Ro's time estimates, lined up (checked September 22, 2026)
| Where on Ro's site | What Ro says | What it describes |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance page, step 1 | Within 2 days | Online visit → you know if you're eligible |
| Insurance FAQ | About 1–2 weeks | Your insurer reviewing the PA |
| Insurance page, "When you get approved" | Typically 1–3 weeks | Ro's team working on coverage after the prescription |
| Insurance page, step 2 | About two weeks | Prescription → first dose, using insurance |
| Insurance page, step 3, and How It Works | About 2–3 weeks | The whole insurance process |
| Insurance FAQ | 1–2 days | Pharmacy getting it ready after approval |
| Insurance page | Less than a week | First dose if you pay cash instead |
Our plain read: Use 2–3 weeks as a planning estimate for the insurance work, not a countdown from signup to your first dose. Ask when your request was sent and when your plan owes you a decision. Paying cash skips the insurance review, but not the clinical review or pharmacy wait.120
Is there a legal deadline for your insurer?
Yes, federal deadlines can apply — including to many employer plans. For private-employer plans covered by ERISA, a federal benefits law, the Department of Labor says a pre-service claim generally needs a decision within 15 calendar days. Urgent-care claims must be decided as soon as possible, within 72 hours. Specific extension rules can apply; a shorter deadline may apply under your plan or state rules.21
The clock is tied to the plan receiving the claim, not the date you joined Ro. Ask: "Which deadline applies to this request, when did you receive it, and has an extension been issued?"
Do not confuse that with CMS's newer 7-day standard / 72-hour urgent rule. Its 2026 decision-time requirement concerns non-drug requests for specified Medicare Advantage, Medicaid and CHIP payers, and excludes the Marketplace plans on the federally facilitated exchanges from that particular deadline provision. It does not set those deadlines for prescription-drug PAs. CMS's separate 2026 drug proposal is still a proposal, not a replacement for your current rights.2223
A clinician should assess whether your health needs an urgent review. A preference for faster treatment is not, by itself, an urgent-care claim.
How to keep your PA from stalling
Missing information can hold up a request. Have these ready:
- Your insurance card, front and back — including the pharmacy part (often labeled Rx BIN, PCN and group).
- Your pharmacy card too, if it's a separate company like CVS Caremark, Express Scripts or Optum Rx.
- Your weight records. Ask how recent the measurement must be and whether the plan needs your weight from before treatment. Use your plan's rule — there is no single 90-day rule established here for every plan.
- Weight-related conditions a doctor has diagnosed, like high blood pressure, sleep apnea, high cholesterol or type 2 diabetes.
- Names and rough dates of weight-loss medicines or programs you've tried. Some plans use step therapy — they want you to try another option first.
- Labs done fast if Ro orders them.
- A pharmacy that stocks your drug. Ro says if your pharmacy is out, you'll go on its waitlist and Ro will check back.
Ro describes collecting the medical and plan information needed for its requests; the exact checklist depends on your plan.81
For a full list, see documents needed for GLP-1 prior authorization.
How do I check my Ro prior authorization status?
Ro members can track a prior authorization on the Prior Authorization Details Page in their Ro account, which Ro says shows status, timeline and next steps once a request starts. If that page and your insurer don't match, ask Ro for the date it was sent, which company received it, and the reference number.10
Open my Ro account to check progress →
Here's one way people get stuck. A person posting in Ro's Reddit community said their insurer's website "doesn't show anything has been submitted" while they waited. That post is one person's account, not a tested claim about Ro. The useful question is which step you're actually on.
The checkpoint map: what you have vs. what it proves
Each step in this process proves one thing — and people get hurt when they assume it proves the next thing too.
| What you have | What it proves | What it does NOT prove | Ask this next |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ro's free coverage report | What your plan said about the three pens, and whether a PA is needed | That anything was sent. Ro says the checker doesn't submit a request or write a prescription | "If I join, which drug would you file for first?" |
| A Ro prescription and shared care plan | A Ro provider says the drug fits you. Your membership has started | That insurance will pay | "Does my plan need a PA, and when will it be sent?" |
| A PA entry in your Ro account | Ro's system started the process | That your insurer has a complete request | "What date was it sent, to which company, and what's the reference number?" |
| Your insurer can see the request | The plan can find the request | Approval, or your final price | "Is anything missing? When should a decision come?" |
| "More information needed" | The plan has asked for more information | A denial | "What exactly is missing, and who's sending it?" |
| A denial | You have a written reason to work with | That an appeal will win — or lose | "Was it 'criteria not met' or 'not covered'? What's my deadline?" |
| An approval | Your plan said yes for that drug | That it's free, or that it lasts forever | "What will this fill cost, and when does this approval end?" |
| A filled prescription | The pharmacy dispensed the drug | That insurance paid, or that next month's price will match | "Did insurance pay, and what could change at my next fill?" |
| A Ro renewal charge | Your membership bills on its own schedule | That waiting pauses billing — it doesn't | "What's my next charge date?" |
Map sources: Ro's checker, insurance process and membership terms, plus HealthCare.gov's distinction between PA and payment.4139
When to message Ro
Our follow-up checklist, not a new deadline for your insurer:
- The promised update or plan deadline has passed → message Ro. If you were not given a date, ask at submission and follow up by the end of Ro's stated 1–2 week review estimate.
- Your insurer asked for more information → ask now who will send it and by what date. Do not wait a week to find out.
- Any denial or a renewal charge coming up → message Ro the same day and ask for the written reason or exact billing date.
Copy and send these six questions
Send this through your Ro account's secure messages. Never post insurance details in public forums.
Hi — can you confirm where my prior authorization stands? 1. Which drug, strength and form did you request? 2. Has the PA been sent to my insurance? On what date? 3. Which company received it (my insurer or my pharmacy benefit company), and what's the reference number? 4. Has my plan asked for anything else? If so, who is sending it? 5. When should we expect a decision? 6. What's my next membership charge date?
Ro PA status helper (free, no email)
Choose the situation that matches yours, then copy the message into your secure Ro account. This helper does not connect to Ro or your insurer. It gives you the next question — not a live status, approval prediction or personal price quote.
I have not joined, and I need to know what my plan covers.
Start with the free coverage checker above. Before paying, ask: "Which of the supported pens does my plan cover, is a PA required, and what cost estimate is available?" A coverage report is not a submitted PA.
I joined, but my insurer cannot find a request.
Send Ro: "Please confirm whether my PA was sent, the date, the receiving insurer or pharmacy benefit manager, and the reference number. Is anything still needed before submission?"
The request was sent, but there is no decision.
Send Ro: "What deadline does my plan apply to this request? Has it requested more information or issued an extension? When will you update me next?"
My plan wants more information or denied the request.
Send Ro: "Please share the written request or denial. What exactly is missing or which rule was not met? Who is sending the response, and what is the deadline?"
I was approved, but the pharmacy cannot fill it.
Ask the pharmacy: "What exact claim message or rejection code did you receive? Does the approval match this drug, strength and device? What must change for the claim to go through?" Send that answer to Ro.
My next membership charge is coming up.
Check the renewal date and amount in your Ro account. Ro's terms require cancellation at least 48 hours before renewal to avoid another charge. Send: "Please confirm my renewal date and time, the next charge, and whether a cancellation request has been completed."
We never ask for your member ID, birth date or login. These messages are our practical checklist, built from the process and terms above — not official Ro forms.1310
What do you pay Ro while your prior authorization is pending?
Ro's membership starts when your provider writes the prescription and shares your care plan, so you pay while your insurer decides. The first month is $39. After that it's $149 a month, or $74 a month on a 12-month plan paid up front ($888). Ro's $39 refund promise is for being ineligible for treatment — not for an insurance denial.32
What you pay Ro while you wait (checked September 22, 2026)
| Item | What's true | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| First month | $39 | Your entry price |
| The $39 refund | Refunded if you're not eligible for GLP-1s | A medical "no," not an insurance "no" |
| After month one | $149 a month, or $74 a month on a 12-month plan ($888 paid up front) | "$74" is the yearly plan broken into months, not a month-to-month price |
| When membership starts | When your provider writes the prescription and shares the care plan | The insurance wait happens on paid time |
| Insurance and the membership | Never covered | Budget it as your own cost |
| Billing while you wait | Ro's terms say you keep being charged even if you don't receive medication, until you cancel | Waiting doesn't pause billing |
| Refunds on paid months | Ro's terms say fees are non-refundable once paid | Cancel before the charge, not after |
| How to stop | Cancel at least 48 hours before your renewal date | Know that date on day one |
Sources: Ro's pricing page and Terms of Use, checked September 22, 2026.23
To cancel: Open your Ro account, select Ro Body Program, then Program Details and Cancel Subscription. Those are the steps in Ro's published terms. Keep the confirmation.3
### The honest part Ro does NOT bill its membership to your insurance, and it keeps charging while your insurer decides. If avoiding Ro's monthly fee is your top priority, ask your own doctor first — just check the office's visit, lab and paperwork costs. What Ro's membership adds is a dedicated insurance team. That team answers your insurer's questions, can file an appeal, and can work with your provider on a different GLP-1 when it is right for you. If the answer is still no, Ro can explain its FDA-approved cash-pay options without making you find a new platform.123 Want to try your own doctor first? Here's what your doctor's office needs to file it →
The math that makes one approval worth it
This is an example, not a quote: say your plan covers Wegovy, your pharmacy charge is $25, and you're past the first month on Ro's monthly plan:
- Approved: $25 at the pharmacy + $149 to Ro = $174 a month
- Not covered, paying Ro's cash price (1–2.4 mg): $349 + $149 = $498 a month
That's $324 less for that fill plus one month of membership. On the 12-month plan, the monthly-equivalent comparison is $99 vs. $423, but the $888 membership is paid upfront. These examples do not predict your copay or annual drug costs.2
Your real cost to try
Ro's own insurance estimate — about 2–3 weeks — can fit within one monthly billing cycle, but that does not promise an answer before your next charge. If the answer is no and you don't want cash pricing, cancel at least 48 hours before your renewal date.13
Check your charge date on your checkout screen and in your account on day one. Ro's terms make your actual renewal date the one that matters.3
Don't prepay a year until you're approved
The 12-month plan saves $900 compared with 12 ongoing $149 membership payments: $1,788 minus $888. That comparison excludes the introductory month. That's real money — if you stay. Our suggestion: start monthly, then check the prepaid plan terms once you know your coverage and ongoing care needs. Do not assume unused prepaid months are refundable.23
### If paperwork is what's been stopping you, let Ro's team file it Start with Ro's $39 first month. If you're not eligible for GLP-1 treatment, Ro says it refunds the $39. If a supported medication is prescribed and your plan needs a PA, Ro's insurance team handles the request. Pick the monthly plan while you check whether the coverage and costs work for you.21 See if I qualify for Ro — $39 to start → Sponsored link. The membership isn't covered by insurance. Medicine is billed separately.
What happens after Ro's prior authorization is approved?
After approval, Ro sends your prescription to the pharmacy you chose, and you pay your share there. Eligible patients with commercial coverage can use Wegovy or Zepbound single-dose pen savings offers with up to $100 off a monthly fill. With the full discount available, a $200 copay becomes $100 — not $25.12413
Ro estimates 1–2 days for your pharmacy to prepare it, but stock and fulfillment can change that. Then comes the question everyone asks: what will I actually pay?1
A copay is your fixed share for a fill. A deductible is what you pay before your plan starts sharing costs. And as HealthCare.gov puts it: "Preauthorization isn't a promise your health insurance or plan will cover the cost."9
What you really pay after approval
Both makers advertise "as little as $25" for eligible people whose commercial plan covers the drug — with savings capped at $100 for a one-month fill under the offers used here. Lilly's covered single-dose pen card also caps savings at $1,300 a calendar year and 13 fills, with current terms ending December 31, 2026.2413
Here's the calculation with Ro's membership added. It assumes you qualify, the pharmacy can apply the offer, and no benefit cap has been used up. Your own plan and claim determine the starting charge.
| Your pharmacy charge before the card, one fill | Card pays | You pay the pharmacy | Plus Ro monthly ($149) | Plus Ro annual plan's monthly equivalent ($74) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $0 | $0 | $0 | $149 | $74 |
| $10 | $0 | $10 | $159 | $84 |
| $25 | $0 | $25 | $174 | $99 |
| $60 | $35 | $25 | $174 | $99 |
| $125 | $100 | $25 | $174 | $99 |
| $150 | $100 | $50 | $199 | $124 |
| $200 | $100 | $100 | $249 | $174 |
| $250 | $100 | $150 | $299 | $224 |
| $600, such as a charge before meeting a deductible | $100 | $500 | $649 | $574 |
| Cash: Ro Wegovy pen, 1–2.4 mg | — | $349 | $498 | $423 |
| Cash: Ro Zepbound KwikPen, 7.5–15 mg with the offer | — | $449 | $598 | $523 |
The takeaway: With these assumptions, a pre-card charge of $25–$125 can become $25. If your plan already charges less than $25, do not assume you must pay more. Above $125, subtract at most $100. Eligibility and remaining card benefits still matter.2413
Our math: Card savings are the smaller of $100 or the amount by which your charge exceeds $25, never less than $0. We then add the selected membership amount. The annual column is a budget comparison; it is not monthly billing. You pay $888 upfront for that membership. Cash rows already include the stated manufacturer offer, not an extra copay-card discount.2
These commercial-insurance copay cards exclude Medicare, Medicaid and TRICARE members. FEHB is not treated as an excluded government program under the Wegovy offer's terms. That is different from eligibility for a manufacturer's cash-pay offer. Ozempic has its own card with different terms. More detail: Wegovy savings card · Zepbound savings card.1213
Ask for your approval's end date
Your approval may have an end date. Ro's own Wegovy PA guide tells readers to check how long an approval lasts. Ask Ro for the date and put it in your phone today. (More on renewals below.)25
Approved, but the pharmacy won't fill it?
This is a different problem than a denial. Ask the pharmacy for the exact reason the claim didn't go through. Then check that these match your approval:
- the drug, strength and exact device (do not assume an autoinjector approval includes the KwikPen)
- the approval's start and end dates
- your member information
Also ask whether the pharmacy has the prescribed medicine in stock.
Copy this for the pharmacy:
"Can you tell me the exact reason this prescription won't process, whether you can see the prior authorization, and what needs to change for the claim to go through?"
Then send the answer to Ro. Pharmacies often show a reject code — here's what each GLP-1 reject code means.
Can you take the prescription somewhere else yourself? The downloaded copy is not a fillable prescription. Ro says the copy in your account is for reference only and can't be used to fill or transfer it. You can pick your pharmacy during the online visit. To change pharmacies later, ask Ro to coordinate the prescription with your chosen pharmacy; do not try to fill the reference copy.1
What if Ro's prior authorization is denied?
If a Ro prior authorization is denied, Ro says its insurance team can file an appeal, or your provider can assess another GLP-1 and send a new request. If nothing gets covered, you can discuss Ro's FDA-approved cash options or cancel. Start with the exact denial reason: missing records, unmet criteria and an excluded benefit are different problems.126
An appeal is a formal request asking your plan to change its decision. Start with the written reason, not a guess.
| What the denial says | What it can mean | What to ask Ro or your plan | Your move |
|---|---|---|---|
| "Not enough information" | The request lacks required records | Which records are missing, who will send them, and by what date? | Upload what's asked through a secure channel |
| "Criteria not met" | The request did not show that you meet a plan rule | Which rule, and what medical evidence addresses it? | Ask Ro which rule you missed before you wait on an appeal |
| "Try another drug first" | Step therapy, or a preferred drug requirement | Is another drug clinically right for me, or is a step-therapy exception appropriate? | Ask your clinician and plan about the next supported request |
| "Not on formulary" or wrong device | The requested drug or form is not on the covered list | Is a formulary exception available, or is a covered alternative appropriate? | Check the exact drug and device, not just the brand |
| "Not covered" / "Excluded" | It may be an excluded benefit, but the wording alone is not enough | Does the exclusion apply to my prescribed use? Was it applied correctly, and is an exception or appeal available? | Get the written rule before deciding on an appeal, cash or cancellation |
A routine PA does not rewrite your plan. If the benefit is truly excluded and no exception applies, another PA is not a solution. But a wrong denial, a drug-list exception and a different covered use deserve different responses. Follow the appeal instructions and deadline in your notice.2627
Your three choices — with real prices
- Wait on an appeal or a new request. Your membership keeps billing while you wait.
- Discuss cash treatment on Ro. Wegovy pen $349 (1–2.4 mg), Zepbound KwikPen $449 (7.5–15 mg with the offer), Wegovy pill or Foundayo advertised at $149–$299, plus membership. The dose and offer rules in the table above still apply.
- Cancel. Do it at least 48 hours before your renewal date.3
If you'll end up paying cash anyway, compare Ro's membership against buying straight from the maker: Ro vs LillyDirect.
Go deeper: Plan exclusion vs. prior authorization · GLP-1 appeal levels explained · Free GLP-1 appeal letter template
Does Ro handle prior authorization renewal?
A GLP-1 approval can expire, and renewal may need new records. Ask Ro who will submit your renewal and when. The Ro pages checked for this guide do not set one renewal schedule for every patient. If you leave Ro or change insurance, plan the handoff early.253
Renewals can create another paperwork gap. Keep the approval notice so you know its dates instead of relying on a remembered approval message.
What plans want at renewal varies. Ask for the exact rule, the records needed and any response-to-treatment target. Do not assume a 5% weight-loss rule applies to your plan.25
Your renewal checklist:
- Get your approval's end date now.
- Log your weight in the Ro app so the numbers are ready.
- As a planning habit, message Ro about 30 days before the end date and ask who's filing the renewal. Use an earlier date if your plan or Ro requests it.
See initial request vs. renewal for GLP-1 prior authorization.
Changing jobs, insurance or providers?
- New insurance: Your approval came from your old plan. A new plan has its own rules. Tell Ro right away so it can check the new one.
- Leaving Ro: Cancelling ends Ro's prescribing care after your paid period. Line up a new prescriber before your refills run out, and ask your plan whether your approval carries over to them.3
Is Ro worth it just for the prior authorization?
Our take: Ro is worth considering if you have eligible commercial or FEHB insurance, want the Wegovy, Zepbound or Ozempic pen, and need a clinician plus paperwork help. If your doctor already handles both, compare that office's costs before paying Ro. If you'll end up paying cash anyway, compare Ro's membership with a manufacturer cash-pay pharmacy.
| Question | Ro | Your own doctor | Manufacturer cash-pay pharmacy (LillyDirect, NovoCare) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who files the PA | Ro's insurance team for supported medications | The office, if it provides this service | No insurance PA for the cash purchase |
| Extra care cost | $149 monthly or $888 prepaid for 12 months; $39 introductory month | Ask about visit, lab and paperwork charges | Pharmacy fulfillment does not replace a prescriber |
| Drugs it can seek coverage for | Listed insurance options: Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound autoinjector pens | Depends on the clinician, prescribed treatment and plan | This column compares cash purchases, not an insurance service |
| If not covered | Advertised cash offers above, plus membership | Pharmacy or manufacturer cash price, plus care costs | Manufacturer price and offer conditions |
| If denied | Appeal, another suitable GLP-1, or cash on Ro | Depends on the office | No insurer decision for a cash purchase |
| Ongoing check-ins | Included in membership | Office care and its charges | Arrange ongoing care with your prescriber |
This is a comparison of responsibilities, not a test showing one provider gets more approvals. Ro's features and fees come from its published pages; the doctor column lists questions to confirm with that office.121312
Find yourself here:
- Eligible commercial or FEHB plan + you want a supported pen + need care and paperwork help → Ro fits this job.
- Your doctor will file it quickly → Compare their charges first; you may not need Ro's added fee. Here's what they'll need →
- Your plan excludes the benefit and no exception applies → Compare cash options: Ro vs LillyDirect →
- You need Foundayo or the Wegovy pill covered → Ask your own doctor about prescribing and your plan's request process.
- Medicare → Medicare GLP-1 Bridge → · Medicaid → Medicaid GLP-1 guide → · TRICARE → TRICARE providers →
- You're comparing other telehealth providers → See our Sesame Care review.
### Does this sound like you? You have eligible commercial or federal employee insurance. You want a supported Wegovy, Zepbound or Ozempic pen. You need a clinician and someone to handle the paperwork. That's the job Ro's insurance team can help with. Start my Ro visit → Sponsored link. $39 first month, then as low as $74/month with annual plan paid upfront ($149 month-to-month). Treatment requires a provider's approval.
What do Ro members say about the prior authorization process?
Ro scores 3.9 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 6,656 reviews, as of September 22, 2026. That is a company-wide rating, not a score for PA approvals or a measure of your chances. Reviews reflect individual experiences, not typical results.28
On Trustpilot, 65% of Ro's reviews are five stars and 22% are one star. About 4,352 were posted in the past 12 months. Trustpilot notes that Ro invites customers to leave reviews.28
"For the first time in a very long time, I feel heard and supported." — Ginny Cruz, 5 stars, Trustpilot, September 22, 2026. She wrote that her regular doctor and sleep specialist hadn't helped. She also asked Ro for a heads-up before the next charge.
"Ro ran my prior authorization and guided me to a savings card." — Alyssa, featured in Ro's 2025 GLP-1 Insurance Coverage Checker Report. She says it happened within two days and she paid $25 at CVS. Ro labels her a paid partner.
The limit that matters: A coverage check is not an approval, and membership can keep billing while you wait. Those are limits in Ro's own process and terms, not just a reviewer's complaint. Ask for the written decision and check your next charge date.43
These are individual experiences about the insurance process. They are not evidence of medical results or typical outcomes.
How we checked this page
This page was checked against Ro's public pages and sources from the Department of Labor, CMS, HealthCare.gov, FDA, Novo Nordisk and Eli Lilly on September 22, 2026. No clinician review is claimed. We may earn a commission through marked links; it doesn't change what we report.
- Publisher: The RX Index. No medical reviewer, and we don't claim one.
- How: We read Ro's pricing, insurance, How It Works, coverage checker, 2025 coverage report, ro.OS insurance page, its Prior Authorization Details Page article and its Terms of Use. We checked manufacturer savings terms, Department of Labor claim deadlines, CMS's final rule and drug proposal, and HealthCare.gov's definition of preauthorization. We recorded Ro's Trustpilot numbers the same day.
- Why: Ro's answers about its own prior authorization are spread across several pages. We wanted one page that lines up the process, seven time statements and the costs.
- What we didn't do: join Ro, submit a real request or test a member account. Your plan's answer can differ from anything here.
- Our framework: This page covers the access and cost pillars of our RX Index Score, which rates providers on clinical legitimacy, care quality, transparency, access and cost.
Provider-stated vs. checked: what the evidence proves
| Detail | What was checked | What was not independently tested |
|---|---|---|
| Membership prices, start date and cancellation | Ro's published pricing and terms on September 22, 2026 | A new checkout, an actual charge or a refund |
| Medication insurance support | Ro's insurance page, checker and current menu | Your plan, your diagnosis or a specific strength's approval |
| PA timing and status page | Ro's published estimates and feature description | Live account screens or real turnaround times |
| Savings-card examples | Manufacturer terms plus the calculation shown above | Whether your own pharmacy claim qualifies |
| Ratings and quotes | The cited public review pages and Ro's paid-partner label | The reviewers' medical, billing or insurance records |
Our original work is the comparison, calculation and next-step checklist. Public-source verification does not turn provider claims into independently measured results.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us →
Ro GLP-1 prior authorization FAQ
Does Ro do prior authorization for GLP-1s?
Yes, for eligible commercial and FEHB insurance. After a Ro provider prescribes, Ro's insurance team checks your benefits and an outside pharmacy partner sends the request if needed. Ro names the Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound autoinjector pens for this help.18
How long does Ro's prior authorization take?
Ro says your insurer's review usually takes about 1–2 weeks, and the broader insurance process about 2–3 weeks. That is not a promised visit-to-pickup timeline. Missing records or pharmacy shortages can add time.1
How do I check my Ro prior authorization status?
Open the Prior Authorization Details Page in your Ro account. Ro says it shows your status, timeline and next steps. If it doesn't match what your insurer says, ask Ro for the send date, the company that received it, and the reference number.10
Is the Ro membership covered by insurance?
No. Ro's membership is cash-pay: $39 the first month, then $149 a month or $888 prepaid for 12 months ($74/month equivalent). Insurance may help pay for the medicine only.12
Will Ro charge me while my prior authorization is pending?
Yes. Ro's membership starts when your provider writes the prescription and shares the care plan, and Ro's terms say billing continues even if you haven't received medication, until you cancel. Cancel at least 48 hours before renewal to stop the next charge.3
Do I get my $39 back if insurance says no?
Not under Ro's treatment-eligibility refund promise. That promise covers being ineligible for GLP-1 treatment, not an insurance denial. Ro's terms say paid membership fees are non-refundable.23
Does Ro's free coverage checker start a prior authorization?
No. The free checker contacts your insurance and emails you a report on the Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound pens. It does not submit a treatment request or write a prescription. Ro's treatment PA process follows the clinical prescription.41
Can Ro do a prior authorization for Foundayo, the Wegovy pill or the Zepbound KwikPen?
Ro says it can't check insurance for those three, and its insurance help names only the three supported pens. On Ro, those are cash-pay, starting at $149 per fill for Foundayo and the Wegovy pill and $299 for the KwikPen, plus membership. Ask another prescriber whether they can seek coverage for your treatment.142
Does Ro take Medicare, TRICARE or Medicaid for GLP-1s?
Ro won't coordinate Medicare, Medigap or TRICARE benefits, though those members may qualify for certain cash-pay options. Ro says Medicaid members aren't eligible for treatment. Medicare members should check regular Part D coverage or the Bridge, which has a $50 monthly-supply copay for those who meet its rules.119
Will I really pay $25 after approval?
Not automatically. For eligible covered patients with the full discount available, the Wegovy and Zepbound single-dose pen offers can reduce a $25–$125 charge to $25. A $200 charge becomes $100; an already lower copay may stay below $25. These commercial-insurance copay cards exclude Medicare, Medicaid and TRICARE members; FEHB is not excluded as a government program under Wegovy's terms.241213
Can Ro appeal a denial?
Ro says its insurance team can file an appeal, and your provider may assess another GLP-1. A routine PA does not add an excluded benefit, but you can challenge a wrong decision or ask about an available exception. Start with the written reason and deadline.12627
Is there a legal deadline for my insurer to decide?
Yes, depending on the plan and claim. Many private-employer ERISA plans must decide pre-service claims within 15 calendar days, with specific extension rules, and urgent-care claims within 72 hours. CMS's separate 2026 non-drug rule does not erase those existing protections or set a new drug-PA deadline. Ask your plan which deadline applies.2122
Does Ro handle prior authorization renewals?
Ask Ro to confirm who will submit your renewal and when. The pages checked here do not set one schedule for everyone. As a planning habit, contact Ro about 30 days before approval ends, or earlier if requested, and gather the records your plan requires.25
Can I take my Ro prescription to a different pharmacy myself?
Not by using the downloaded copy. Ro says that copy is for reference only and can't be used to fill or transfer it. You pick your pharmacy during the online visit; ask Ro to coordinate any later pharmacy change.1
Still not sure which GLP-1 program is right for you? Take our free matching quiz. Find My GLP-1 Path →
The RX Index — independent guidance for choosing your GLP-1 path. This page is for information only and isn't medical, legal or insurance advice. Coverage and prices change often. Confirm with Ro and your insurer before you act.
Related guides: Ro Body reviews · Does Ro have a membership fee? · Ro weight loss insurance coverage · Ro GLP-1 cost · Ro vs LillyDirect · Ro GLP-1 alternatives
Sources
- Ro, How insurance works with the Ro Body membership; checked September 22, 2026.
- Ro, Weight Loss Program Pricing; checked September 22, 2026.
- Ro, Terms of Use, Ro Body Program membership provisions; checked September 22, 2026.
- Ro, GLP-1 Insurance Coverage Checker; checked September 22, 2026.
- Ro, 2025 GLP-1 Insurance Coverage Checker Report; data August 13, 2024–April 17, 2025; checked September 22, 2026.
- The RX Index, How Find My GLP-1 Path works.
- FDA, Understanding the Risks of Compounded Drugs.
- Ro, ro.OS Insurance Support; checked September 22, 2026.
- HealthCare.gov, Preauthorization.
- Ro, Bringing patient transparency to the insurance process, October 9, 2025; checked September 22, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk, Wegovy savings-offer eligibility and terms; checked September 22, 2026.
- Eli Lilly, Zepbound coverage, savings-card and self-pay offer terms; checked September 22, 2026.
- Eli Lilly, Foundayo savings and self-pay offer terms; checked September 22, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk, Ozempic approved uses and safety information; checked September 22, 2026.
- FDA, First medication for obstructive sleep apnea, December 20, 2024.
- FDA, Wegovy cardiovascular risk-reduction approval, March 8, 2024.
- FDA, Wegovy approval for MASH with moderate-to-advanced fibrosis; checked September 22, 2026.
- Medicare.gov, Weight-loss drugs / Medicare GLP-1 Bridge; checked September 22, 2026.
- Ro, How It Works; checked September 22, 2026.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Filing a Claim for Your Health Benefits; checked September 22, 2026.
- CMS, Interoperability and Prior Authorization Final Rule, CMS-0057-F, decision-time and drug-exclusion provisions.
- CMS, 2026 Interoperability Standards and Prior Authorization for Drugs Proposed Rule, April 10, 2026; proposal status checked September 22, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk, Wegovy savings offers; checked September 22, 2026.
- Ro, How to get prior authorization for Wegovy, renewal section, October 23, 2024. Used for the renewal process, not current prices or indications.
- HealthCare.gov, Internal appeals. Use your own notice and plan rules for deadlines.
- HealthCare.gov, Getting prescription medications, drug exception and appeal process.
- Trustpilot, Ro company profile; September 22, 2026 snapshot. Ratings and review counts can change.
